Best Receipt Scanner Apps in 2026
Prices and features checked against each company's own site on . FYN limits are from this site's pricing page.
A search for the best receipt scanner app, a receipt tracker app, or an expense tracker app with receipts usually hides three different jobs. One is personal spending: the receipt should sit next to a budget or a bank charge. One is a small business: the receipt should become an expense report or a line in the books. One is taxes and returns: you need the image, the store, the date, and the amount, later. This page is which product to pick for that job. It is not a ranking.
How to file the paper, how long to keep it, and whether to type the purchase yourself are different pages. Those are how to keep track of receipts and receipt scanning vs manual tracking. We build FYN, and it is the last row.
Pick by the job
Personal spending
You want a photo or an email, and you want that purchase in a budget. Monarch Money imports the receipt into a paid budget and tries to match a posted transaction. YNAB lets you attach a photo to a transaction. On the page we read, it does not extract the receipt for you. FYN takes the photo or the email on the free plan, before you pay to link a bank. If the real question is which budget app to use, and receipts are only one column, use Monarch Money alternatives or best budget apps in 2026. If the question is an app to track spending, and the receipt is only one piece, use best expense tracker apps. Business scanners and mail-in services stay on this page.
Small business and expense reports
You need a report someone else will approve, or a file your bookkeeper will post. Expensify is the expense-report product. Shoeboxed will scan paper you mail. Dext is built to send the receipt into accounting software. QuickBooks Online is the right row when the books are already there. These are poor substitutes for each other. A free personal scanner will not mail your shoebox, and a mail-in service is an odd way to track one grocery trip.
Taxes, returns, and warranties
The store's return window and the IRS periods are not in this table. They are in the how-to guide, with the IRS pages linked there. What this roundup can tell you is which product keeps a searchable image. Shoeboxed and Dext talk about a business tax file. QuickBooks Online keeps the receipt on the expense. A folder still works if you will do a weekly pass. An app is worth it when the pile, or the search, is the part you skip.
The comparison
Seven products people actually shortlist, checked . Rows follow the jobs above. They are not a ranking. A cell says not checked when the vendor page did not state the fact, or when two of that vendor's pages disagreed. We did not guess, and we did not use a roundup article as the source.
| App | Price / free tier | How receipts get in | Auto-extraction | Budgets and bank transactions | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Expensify | Submit is free. A personal account includes unlimited SmartScan. Collect is $5 per unique member per month in USD, after a 30-day trial when the workspace is created. Control is $9, $18, or $36 in USD, depending on the card and the billing model. Categories on the free plan: not checked. | Photo in the app, upload on the web, forward to [email protected], or text a photo to 47777 (US numbers only). | SmartScan reads merchant, date, total, currency, and VAT amount. It can flag some purchases at the line-item level. A stored list of every line: not checked. | Expense reports. A scanned receipt can match a linked card. Personal card import is listed on free Submit. Accounting integrations need a paid workspace. A personal monthly budget: not checked. | An employee expense report, or a small team that will pay for Collect. |
| Shoeboxed | Not free. Starter is $9 a month or $97 a year. Pro is $29 a month or $297 a year. Plus is $79 a month or $797 a year. The card is charged at signup. 30-day money-back guarantee, except after a Magic Envelope has shipped. | Photo in the iOS or Android app, drag and drop on the web, forward to a Shoeboxed email address, or mail paper in a Magic Envelope. Gmail receipt sync is listed on Pro and Plus, not in the Starter list. Whether Starter includes the forwarding address: not checked. | OCR, automated line-item extraction, and a human check. How long the scans are kept: not checked (two Shoeboxed pages disagree). | Expense reports and a CSV export. QuickBooks Online and Xero are listed on Pro and Plus. A personal budget fed by a bank login: not checked. | Mailing in a pile of paper, and keeping a tax file. A poor fit if the app has to be free. |
| Dext | No free plan. The app is free to download. The scanner FAQ says a 14-day trial does not ask for a card. The business page shows $25.21 a month, $302.50 billed annually, for 250 documents a month and 5 users (USD, tax excluded). The monthly-billing price: not checked. | Photograph a receipt in the mobile app, or email it to your Extract by Email address. One address treats each file as one document. Another splits a file by page. | Automatic data extraction is included. The scanner page says supplier, date, amount, tax, and line items. Line-item extraction on the pricing page is 5 documents a month, then from $20.50 a month or $0.50 a document. | Approved receipts go to accounting software (Xero, QuickBooks, Sage, and 36 or more platforms on the scanner page). Bank-statement extraction is 10 sheets on the plan shown, then from $13 a month. A personal budget: not checked. | A small business or a bookkeeper sending receipts into accounting software. |
| QuickBooks Online | List price: not checked. Emailing a receipt requires an active subscription. On this check the Essentials page showed $85 and $42.50 a month and did not say which number continues. | Snap a photo in the mobile app, upload from a computer or Google Drive, or email an image to a custom address ending in @assist.intuit.com. Each file should be one receipt. | Dates, amounts, vendor, and the last four digits of the card. Line items: not checked. | You create an expense from the receipt or match it to an existing transaction. The Essentials page says you can import transactions from a bank, credit cards, PayPal, Square, and more. Employee expense claims are on QuickBooks Online Advanced. | A business that already keeps its books in QuickBooks Online. |
| Monarch Money | No free plan on the pricing page. 7-day trial, then Core $14.99 a month or $99.99 a year. Plus is $199.99 a year. A payment method is required. | Scan or upload a photo in the app or on the web, or forward the email to [email protected]. Gmail can forward new receipt mail. | Merchant, amount, date, and line items when the receipt has them. Refund line items are not extracted. The amount on a matched transaction is not overwritten. | It tries to match a posted transaction, or you can create one from the receipt. Pending charges are not matched. This sits inside the budget app. The bank-data provider: not checked. | A paid personal budget, when you also want the receipt on the transaction. |
| YNAB | No free plan. 34-day trial with no card if you sign up on YNAB's site. Then $14.99 a month or $109 a year, USD, plus tax. An app-store trial may require a card. | A photo on a transaction you already have, from the iOS app, the Android app, or the web. Email forwarding: not checked. | No. The photo article stores the picture. It does not say YNAB reads the merchant, the amount, or the lines. | The picture sits on a transaction in the budget. Direct Import covers select US, Canadian, UK, and EU banks. Otherwise, file import. The photo does not create the transaction. | Someone who already uses YNAB and wants the picture next to the charge. Not a scanner. |
| FYN (our product) | Free: 20 receipt scans a month. Photos and emailed receipts share that count. No card to start. Pro: $9.99 a month and 200 scans. Bank sync is Pro only, up to 15 accounts via Plaid. No annual price is listed. | Photo and email forwarding, on Free and on Pro. An order confirmation you forward counts as a receipt. | Receipt OCR and smart search are on Free and Pro. Which fields are filled in: not checked. | Free creates a transaction from the receipt. Auto-match to a bank transaction is listed on Pro. Linking a bank is Pro only. | Personal photo and email receipts before you pay to link a bank. A poor fit for mailed paper or an employer expense report. |
On a phone, scroll the table sideways. The first column stays put. Prices are the figures on each company's page that day, before tax unless the page said otherwise. App-store checkouts can differ.
What we opened, and what we left out
Each cell comes from a page linked in Sources. We did not open a paid account at every company. Rocket Money is the name people also search next to a receipt tracker. Its help center documents uploading a billing statement, or emailing a bill to [email protected], for a bill negotiation. A scanner that files ordinary purchases was not on the pages we opened, so Rocket Money is not a row. That receipt feature is not checked.
Expense reports and small-business books
Expensify
Pick Expensify when the job is an expense report. The free-features article says anyone with an account can SmartScan unlimited receipts, forward them to [email protected], track distance, enter an expense by hand, and export a CSV on the web. The same article says a paid workspace is required for categories, tags, automatic reimbursement, accounting integrations, and the Expensify Card.
The company profile, which that page dates as last verified September 9, 2026, describes Submit as free and lists categories, tags, and personal card import on it. Collect is $5 per unique member per month in USD. A 30-day trial starts when a paid workspace is created. Control is $9 a month in USD on an annual plan if the Expensify Card is at least half of settled spend that month, $18 a month annually without that, or $36 pay per use. The $5 Collect rate applies when the first workspace was created on or after April 1, 2025. Earlier customers stay on legacy pricing, which this page does not restate. The receipt scanning page adds a photo, a web upload, email to [email protected], and a text to 47777 for US numbers.
Honest limit: categories and tags on the free plan are not checked, because the help article and the company profile do not say the same thing. SmartScan, on the company profile, reads merchant, date, total, currency, and VAT amount, and can flag some purchases at the line-item level. A full itemized list stored on the expense was not stated, so that is not checked. Expensify is a poor fit if you wanted a personal monthly budget and nothing else.
Shoeboxed
Pick Shoeboxed when the paper is the problem. The pricing FAQ lists Starter at $9 a month or $97 a year ($8.08 a month): 50 digital scans a month, 20 paper scans a year, and 1 Magic Envelope a year. Pro is $29 a month or $297 a year ($24.75 a month): 250 digital scans a month, 50 paper scans a month, Gmail receipt sync, and QuickBooks Online and Xero. Plus is $79 a month or $797 a year ($66.42 a month). Paper Plus, for a higher paper volume, is $1,997 a year or $179 a month. Shoeboxed is not free. The card is charged when you sign up. The money-back window is 30 days, and the page asks you not to request it after a Magic Envelope has shipped.
The receipt scanning page lists five ways in: a Magic Envelope, a photo in the iOS or Android app, a forwarding email address, a Gmail plugin, and drag and drop. It also lists automated line-item extraction, OCR, and a human check. Gmail receipt sync is in the Pro and Plus lists on the pricing page, and not in the Starter list. The scanning page does not say whether Starter includes the plain forwarding address, so that point is not checked.
Honest limit: the two pages do not agree on storage. The pricing FAQ says Starter keeps digital scans for 3 years, and Pro and Plus keep them while the account is active. The scanning page says 2 years on Starter and 3 years on Pro and Plus. Retention is not checked. The pricing FAQ does say you can export. Shoeboxed is a poor fit for a free personal wallet.
Dext
Pick Dext when a bookkeeper or a small business wants the receipt in accounting software. The scanner page says you photograph a receipt and Dext reads supplier, date, amount, tax, and line items, then sends the record to software you already use. It names Xero, QuickBooks, Sage, and 36 or more platforms. The same page says the app is free to download on iOS and Android, and that a 14-day trial does not ask for a card. There is no free plan after that trial.
The business pricing page shows $25.21 a month, $302.50 billed annually, for 250 documents a month and 5 users, in USD excluding tax. That is the annual figure on the page. The price if you pay month to month was not in the text we could read, so it is not checked. Included credits on that plan: 10 sheets of bank-statement extraction, 5 documents with line-item extraction, and 5 supplier-statement extractions. Line-item extraction after that is from $20.50 a month or $0.50 a document. Bank-statement extraction after the 10 sheets is from $13 a month or $0.32 a document. The pricing FAQ says automatic data extraction, storage, and an accounting integration are included, and that documents past the monthly limit can be uploaded but are not extracted until the next bill date or an upgrade.
Email is separate from the camera. The email help article says each user has Extract by Email addresses. A Single address treats each file as one document. A Multiple address splits a file by page. Dext extracts the data, usually within 30 minutes.
Honest limit: the scanner page says line items are read. The pricing page meters line-item extraction after 5 documents a month. Do not treat unlimited line items as included. A personal budget is not checked. The scanner page also says Dext connects with over 11,500 banks and financial institutions. It does not say, next to that number, whether those are live transactions or statement files, so the kind of bank tie is not checked.
QuickBooks Online
Pick QuickBooks Online when the books are already in QuickBooks and you want the receipt on the expense. The email help article, updated August 5, 2026, says an active subscription is required. You snap a photo in the mobile app, upload from a computer or Google Drive, or email an image to a custom address you create at @assist.intuit.com. Send it from the email you use to sign in. Each file should contain one receipt, in PDF, JPEG, JPG, GIF, or PNG, and the attachment must be between 46 KB and 20 MB. QuickBooks pulls dates, amounts, vendor, and the last four digits of the card. You then edit the receipt, add it to an account, or match it to an existing transaction. Line items were not stated, so that is not checked.
The same article says employee expense claims are on QuickBooks Online Advanced, and are not included otherwise. The Essentials page says you can snap a receipt and match it to an expense, and that you can import transactions from a bank, credit cards, PayPal, Square, and more. On October 28, 2026 that page displayed $85 and $42.50 a month and did not say which figure is the price after a discount. The main pricing page did not load for this check. The list price is not checked.
Honest limit: this row is QuickBooks Online, not QuickBooks Self-Employed or any other Intuit product. We did not confirm those products on this pass. QuickBooks is a poor fit if you wanted a free personal receipt wallet and you do not need the books.
Personal budgets that also keep a receipt
Monarch Money
Pick Monarch when you already want that budget subscription and the receipt is part of it. The receipt article, updated October 27, 2026, says you can scan or upload a receipt, or forward the email to [email protected]. It reads the merchant, the amount, the date, and line items when the receipt has them. It tries to match a posted transaction. It does not match a pending charge, and it does not overwrite the amount on a matched transaction. Refund line items are not extracted. Each forwarded email is one receipt. If nothing matches, you can create a transaction from the receipt. Gmail auto-forward is documented from receipt settings.
On October 28, 2026 the pricing page showed a 7-day trial, then Core at $14.99 a month or $99.99 a year (the annual card is also shown as $8.33 a month), and Plus at $199.99 a year. A payment method is required. The pricing FAQ states the $14.99 month and the $99.99 year. No plan that stays free was on that page. The bank-data provider behind the transactions was not on the two pages read for this guide, so it is not checked.
Honest limit: you are paying for the budget app. The receipt article does not say how long the image is kept. Monarch is a poor fit if you wanted receipt scanning with no subscription after a week.
YNAB
Pick YNAB when you already give every dollar a job and you want a picture on the transaction. The photo article tells you to add a photo from the iOS app, the Android app, or the web, on a transaction dated today or in the past. Photos over 15 MB are rejected. PDFs are not supported. The article describes the photo as context, including a picture of a receipt so you remember the purchase. It does not say YNAB reads the merchant, the amount, or the lines. Email forwarding was not on that page, so it is not checked.
The pricing page has no free plan. The trial is 34 days with no card if you sign up on YNAB's site. App stores may require a card for a trial. Then it is $14.99 a month or $109 a year, USD, plus tax where it applies. Direct Import covers select US, Canadian, UK, and EU banks. Otherwise you use file import. The photo does not create the transaction. The transaction is the budget entry, and the picture hangs on it.
Honest limit: YNAB is not a receipt scanner. It is a budget app that will hold a photo. If you wanted the merchant and the total typed in from the image, look at Expensify, Shoeboxed, Dext, Monarch, or FYN instead.
FYN
FYN is our product. On the pricing page, photo scans and emailed receipts are one monthly count: 20 on Free and 200 on Pro. Forwarding an order confirmation counts as a receipt. Receipt OCR and smart search are on both plans. The free plan creates a transaction from the receipt. The receipt feature page lists auto-match to a bank transaction on Pro, not on Free. Which fields the OCR fills in is not on the pricing page, so merchant, tax, and line items are not checked here.
Pro is $9.99 a month. Linking a bank is part of Pro, up to 15 accounts via Plaid. The free plan does not add a bank link. The pricing page does not list an annual plan. It is free to start, and the free plan does not ask for a card. You can ask questions about your spending in plain English. The monthly cap for those questions is on the pricing page.
FYN also has a read-only connection for AI assistants. That is separate from scanning a receipt, and this page does not compare it.
Honest limit: 20 receipts a month on Free is a cap, not unlimited scanning. FYN is a poor fit if you need paper mailed in, or a finished expense report for an employer. Those are Shoeboxed and Expensify jobs. The pricing page does not say how long a stored receipt is kept, so this guide does not state a retention period.
Which app to pick
Use Expensify when someone else has to approve the expense, and read the free-plan disagreement above before you count on categories. Use Shoeboxed when you will pay from $9 a month to mail the paper. Use Dext when the receipt has to reach Xero, QuickBooks, or similar software, and treat line items past the included 5 documents as an add-on. Use QuickBooks Online when the books are already there, and do not treat the $85 and $42.50 figures as a confirmed list price.
Use Monarch when you want the receipt on a transaction inside that paid budget. Use YNAB when you want the picture and you will type, or import, the transaction yourself. Use FYN when you want photo and email receipts before you pay to link a bank, and 20 receipts a month is enough to start. The limits are on the pricing page. FYN is free to start.
If you are still deciding whether to scan at all, or how long to keep the paper, go back to receipt scanning vs manual tracking and how to keep track of receipts.
FAQ
What is the best receipt scanner app in 2026?
There is not one best receipt scanner app. Pick by the job. Expensify is built for expense reports, and its free Submit plan includes receipt scanning. Shoeboxed is the one you mail paper to. Dext and QuickBooks Online are for receipts that need to land in business books. Monarch Money imports a receipt into a paid personal budget. YNAB stores a photo on a transaction and, on the help page checked here, does not read the receipt. FYN, which we build, includes photo and email receipts on the free plan, 20 a month as one count. Bank sync there is Pro only, at $9.99 a month.
Which receipt tracker app is for personal spending, and which is for a small business?
For a personal budget, compare Monarch Money, YNAB, and FYN. Monarch scans or accepts a forwarded email and tries to match a posted transaction. YNAB attaches a photo to a transaction you already have. FYN takes a photo or an emailed receipt on the free plan and creates a transaction from it. For a small business, compare Expensify (expense reports), Shoeboxed (paper you mail in), Dext (receipts into accounting software), and QuickBooks Online (receipts on the books you already keep). Rocket Money was not given a row: its help center documents a billing statement for a negotiation, and a general receipt scanner was not checked.
Is there a free receipt scanner?
Expensify's help center says a personal account includes unlimited SmartScan, and its company profile says the Submit plan is free. FYN's free plan includes photo and email receipts, 20 a month as one count, and does not add a bank link. Shoeboxed is not free (Starter is $9 a month). Dext's app is free to download, and the scanner FAQ says a 14-day trial does not ask for a card. The business price shown is a paid plan. Monarch and YNAB start with a trial, then a paid plan. QuickBooks Online requires an active subscription. The ongoing QuickBooks dollar price was not checked.
Does Monarch Money scan receipts?
Yes. Monarch's help article, updated October 27, 2026, says you can scan or upload a receipt, or forward the email to [email protected]. It reads the merchant, the amount, the date, and line items when the receipt has them, and it tries to match a posted transaction. Amounts on a matched transaction are not overwritten. Refund line items are not extracted. There is no separate free receipt plan on the pricing page. Core is $14.99 a month or $99.99 a year after a 7-day trial, and Plus is $199.99 a year. A payment method is required.
Does YNAB read the receipt, or only store a photo?
On the help article checked October 28, 2026, YNAB stores a photo on a transaction. You take or choose a photo in the iOS or Android app, or upload one on the web. The article does not say YNAB reads the merchant, the amount, or the lines. PDFs are not supported. Email forwarding was not checked. YNAB has no free plan. The trial is 34 days with no card if you sign up on YNAB's site, then $14.99 a month or $109 a year.
What should I use if I need receipts for taxes and returns?
Keep the image and enough text to find it: the store, the date, and the amount. How long to keep each kind of receipt, including the IRS periods, is the method guide, not this roundup. Shoeboxed and Dext are built for a business tax file. QuickBooks Online keeps the receipt on the expense. Expensify exports a CSV from a personal account. FYN is a fit when 20 photo or email receipts a month is enough to start, and a poor fit when you need paper mailed in or a finished report for an employer. A folder still works if you will do the filing yourself.
Sources
Checked . Competitor facts point at each company's site. FYN limits point at this site.
- Expensify free personal features, including unlimited SmartScan, and what a paid workspace adds: Use Free Features in Expensify.
- Expensify Submit plan, Collect and Control USD prices, and what SmartScan reads. The page says it was last verified September 9, 2026: Company profile and AI disclosure.
- Expensify photo, email, and US text intake: Receipt scanning app.
- Expensify Submit described as free for employees: Free expense tracker for employees.
- Shoeboxed plans, scan counts, Gmail receipt sync on Pro and Plus, the money-back guarantee, and export: shoeboxed.com/pricing.
- Shoeboxed intake methods, OCR, and line-item extraction. This page states a different storage period than the pricing FAQ: Receipt scanning.
- Dext business price, document and user counts, and extraction add-ons: dext.com/us/business/pricing.
- Dext scanner, 14-day trial, and accounting software named on the page: Receipt scanner app.
- Dext email intake: How to submit documents to Dext via email.
- QuickBooks Online receipt photo, upload, email, extraction fields, and the Advanced note for employee claims. Updated August 5, 2026: Email receipts and bills.
- QuickBooks Online Essentials receipt snap, bank import, and the two prices displayed on October 28, 2026. The ongoing list price was not labeled: QuickBooks Online Essentials.
- Monarch receipt scan, upload, and email forwarding, updated October 27, 2026: Importing receipts into Monarch.
- Monarch Core and Plus prices, the 7-day trial, and the payment method: monarch.com/pricing.
- YNAB photos on transactions. The article does not describe reading the receipt: Use photos and memos to add context to transactions.
- YNAB trial and USD prices: ynab.com/pricing.
- Rocket Money billing-statement upload for a negotiation. A general receipt scanner was not on this page, so Rocket Money is not a table row: How to submit a bill negotiation. A bill PDF or screenshot can also be emailed to [email protected], per Bill increase after bill negotiation.
- FYN plan limits, including receipt counts and Pro bank sync: fyn.fyi/pricing. Auto-match to a bank transaction is listed on Pro: receipt scanning.