Back to Blog
Guides12 min read

How to Build an Emergency Fund

An emergency fund is cash you set aside for a bill you did not plan, or for a month when the paycheck stops. Car repairs, a home repair, a medical bill, and a loss of income are the usual list. The common size is 3 to 6 months of essential expenses. The first target is smaller than that, so you have something before the full fund exists.

The CFPB's emergency-fund guide, last modified October 29, 2025, calls it a cash reserve set aside for unplanned expenses or financial emergencies. The examples there are car repairs, home repairs, medical bills, and a loss of income. The guide says the amount depends on your situation. It does not print 3 to 6 months. Not documented there. Vanguard's article dated October 1, 2026 says a common rule of thumb, used to be conservative, is 3 to 6 months of expenses for unexpected costs or a change in income. The Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, in a 2025 lesson, says experts often recommend 3 to 6 months of essential expenses, so a job search does not have to go on a card.

Checked . The prices in the apps section were read from the vendor pages linked at the end. A fact a page does not state is marked Not documented. The dollars below are an example household. They are not a quote of what your rent, your groceries, or your insurance costs. This page does not quote a bank interest rate.

How much should be in an emergency fund

Count essential expenses, not your paycheck. The St. Louis Fed lesson sorts a month of spending into essentials and everything else. Essentials in that lesson are rent, groceries, gas or other transportation, phone service, medicine, and insurance. Streaming, eating out, and clothes are the non-essential list. Multiply the essentials by 3 for one target, and by 6 for the other end of the same range. Three months of take-home pay is a different, larger number. It is not the rule these pages describe.

Vanguard splits the same idea into two shocks. A spending shock is an unplanned bill, such as a repair or a medical cost. The October 1, 2026 article says to aim for half a month of living expenses, or $2,000, whichever is greater. An income shock is a job loss or a real drop in pay. For that, the same article says many experts suggest 3 to 6 months of living expenses. Its own illustration uses $5,000 a month of spending: a first milestone of $2,500, then $15,000 to $30,000 for the income shock. Those are Vanguard's figures. This page uses a smaller example so the arithmetic is easy to check.

The CFPB guide is the caution against treating 3 to 6 months as a gate. If you are living paycheck to paycheck, or you are not paid the same amount each week or month, the guide says even a small amount can provide some security. Think about the unexpected bills you have actually had, and what they cost, and set a goal from that. A fund of $0 is the position the guide is trying to move you off.

The Federal Reserve's 2025 Survey of Household Economics and Decisionmaking, in the May 2026 report, is the picture of where adults actually are. 63 percent said they would cover a hypothetical $400 expense with cash or its equivalent: cash, savings, or a credit card paid off at the next statement. That share was unchanged from the previous three years, and down from 68 percent in 2021. 55 percent said they had set aside money for three months of expenses in an emergency or rainy day fund, unchanged from 2024 and down from 59 percent in 2021. Of the rest, 15 percent of all adults said they could cover three months by borrowing, selling something, or drawing on other savings. 30 percent said they could not cover three months of expenses by any of those means. The 3 to 6 month fund is the guidance. The survey is how many people are not there yet.

A step-by-step plan

You need one month of essentials, a starter number, and a monthly transfer. Naming take-home pay and a first month of spending is on how to make a budget. This page starts once you can see which lines you would still pay if the paycheck stopped.

  1. List the essentials for one month. Housing, groceries, utilities, transportation, insurance, medicine, and the minimum payment on a debt you cannot skip. Leave out the restaurant line and the subscription you would cancel. The St. Louis lesson uses a month of statements, plus the cash spending the statement missed.
  2. Add that list. The total is the monthly number you multiply. If a bill is annual, use one twelfth of it here only when you would still owe it during a gap in pay. A bill you already fund on its own schedule belongs on the sinking funds page, not in both totals.
  3. Set the starter, then the full fund. Vanguard's spending-shock milestone is half a month, or $2,000, whichever is greater. The full fund is 3 months of the same essentials, then 6 if you want the cautious end. The CFPB guide does not require you to finish the full fund before the first dollar counts.
  4. Divide the gap by the months you will actually save. Monthly transfer equals the amount you still need, divided by the months you are giving it. The St. Louis lesson's illustration is $2,400 of essentials times 3, which is $7,200, saved at $300 a month for 24 months. Two paychecks a month makes that $150 from each paycheck. Move the money when you are paid, the way you move rent. That order, a set amount before the rest of the spending, is pay yourself first.
  5. Refill it after you use it. Vanguard says to define an emergency before you withdraw, and to rebuild the fund after you spend it. The CFPB guide says the same: use it when you need it, then build it again. A planned purchase is not the fund. Save for that one on its own line.

A worked example

Example household only. These are round numbers chosen so the arithmetic is easy to check. They are not a budget and not a recommendation.

Example essential expenses. Housing $1,200, groceries $400, utilities $150, transportation $150, and insurance $100. The five lines add to $2,000 a month. Three months is $6,000. Six months is $12,000. The starter is $2,000.
EssentialThis month
Housing$1,200
Groceries$400
Utilities$150
Transportation$150
Insurance$100
Monthly essentials$2,000

$1,200 plus $400 is $1,600. Add $150, $150, and $100, and the month is $2,000. Half of $2,000 is $1,000. Vanguard's starter is half a month or $2,000, whichever is greater, so the starter on this example is $2,000, not $1,000. Three months is $2,000 times 3, which is $6,000. Six months is $2,000 times 6, which is $12,000.

Example targets from $2,000 of essentials. The starter is $2,000 and takes 8 months at $250. Three months of essentials is $6,000 and takes 24 months at $250. Six months is $12,000 and takes 48 months at $250.
TargetAmountAt $250 a month
Starter$2,0008 months
3 months of essentials$6,00024 months
6 months of essentials$12,00048 months

$250 times 8 is $2,000. $250 times 24 is $6,000. $250 times 48 is $12,000. The $250 is an example transfer, not a required share of income. If you can move $500, the same targets take half as long. If a thin month can only spare $100, the starter takes 20 months and the fund still starts. The CFPB guide's point is the first transfer, not a perfect pace.

The St. Louis lesson uses a different illustration, and it is theirs: $2,400 of essentials times 3 is $7,200, saved at $300 a month for 24 months. Paid twice a month, that is $150 a paycheck. None of these figures is a national average. The Federal Reserve percentages above are the survey. They are not a target for your account.

Irregular income, and one earner

Vanguard's October 1, 2026 article includes a table of when to save more than the usual range, and when less is enough. A single income is in the "more savings needed" column. Two incomes are in the "less" column. Dependents are more. Income that varies more is more. A job you can replace easily is less. The table does not assign a new month count to the single-income row. Not documented as a required 6, or as a required 12. The range on the page is still 3 to 6 months. When the table says you need more, the cautious end of that range is 6 months of essentials. One paycheck carrying the household is that case. So is a job that disappears in a slow season.

The CFPB guide separates the tools. A savings habit and an automatic transfer are the fit when the paycheck is regular. A tax refund, or another one-time check, is the fit it names when income is irregular: save all or part of it, instead of waiting for a month that looks like last month. You can use both. In a short month, shrink the transfer so the rent still clears. The CFPB guide says a transfer that lands when checking is short can become an overdraft fee.

Until the next payday, a different sum is useful: what is safe to spend from the balance you have now. That formula is on how to calculate safe to spend. It is a pace until payday. The emergency fund is the pile for a shock. They answer different questions. The contribution itself can sit inside the 20 percent of the 50/30/20 budget rule. The CFPB's 2016 spending worksheet puts emergency savings with the savings and debt payments, which that worksheet sets at 20 percent of take-home pay. The worksheet does not say the whole 20 percent must be the emergency fund. Not documented there.

Where to keep it

The fund has to be there when the bill is, and it has to be hard to spend on a Tuesday. The CFPB guide wants it safe, accessible, and out of the way of ordinary spending. Three places are on that page. A bank or credit union account is the one this guide uses for the full target. A prepaid card is on the CFPB list and is not a bank account. Cash at home, or with a person you trust, is the third option, and the guide says cash can be stolen, lost, or destroyed. Use cash for an amount you can afford to lose, not for the $12,000 example.

A savings account, including one that pays more interest. The CFPB guide says a dedicated account at a bank or credit union is generally one of the safest places. A recurring transfer from checking is the automatic version. You pick the amount and the day. If the employer can split a direct deposit, the same guide says that is another way to move a slice of pay before you see it. Vanguard's October 1, 2026 article says checking accounts, savings accounts, and money market funds vary in the yield they pay, and that a competitive yield is part of the choice, next to being able to get the money. In most cases, that article says, a money market fund offers a higher yield than a checking account. A savings account people choose because it pays more than a basic savings account is commonly called a high-yield savings account. The name is not an insurance category.

This page does not quote a rate. Regulation DD, the Truth in Savings rule, says a variable-rate account's disclosures have to state that the interest rate and the annual percentage yield may change. A number in an ad can move after you open the account. Pick the account for insurance, access, and fees first. A fee that eats the transfer matters more than a rate this guide will not print.

FDIC insurance, if the bank is FDIC-insured. The FDIC says deposit insurance covers $250,000 per depositor, per FDIC-insured bank, for each ownership category. Savings accounts are on the covered list, with checking accounts, money market deposit accounts, and certificates of deposit. Stocks, bonds, mutual funds, annuities, and crypto assets are not covered, even when a bank sells them. All of your deposits in the same ownership category at the same bank are added together. A checking account and a savings account you own alone at one bank share one $250,000 limit. The same kind of account at a second FDIC-insured bank is a separate limit. Insurance pays if that bank fails. It does not set the interest rate, and it does not stop you from spending the money. Confirm the bank is FDIC-insured before you send the transfer.

NCUA share insurance, if the credit union is federally insured. The NCUA says the Share Insurance Fund covers an individual account at a federally insured credit union up to $250,000. A member's interest in all joint accounts combined is insured up to $250,000 separately. Share savings and share draft accounts are covered types. Stocks, bonds, mutual funds, and crypto assets are not, even if the credit union offers them. Some state-chartered credit unions use private insurance, and the NCUA says that private coverage is not backed by the full faith and credit of the United States. Confirm the credit union is federally insured. The $250,000 figure is the same kind of limit as the FDIC figure: failure of the institution, not a return.

Vanguard's longer emergency-fund guide also discusses brokerage accounts and a Roth IRA for an income shock, and it says investments may not offer the same safety and access as a savings account. This page keeps the starter and the 3 to 6 month fund in a deposit account. A retirement account you would have to sell, or pay a penalty to touch, is a different pile.

How it differs from a sinking fund

A sinking fund is money for a bill you can already name. Annual insurance, holiday gifts, and a repair you know is coming are that list. The monthly amount is the cost you still need, divided by the months until you pay it. The walkthrough is on sinking funds.

The emergency fund is the bill you could not put on that list, plus a gap in pay. The CFPB guide puts car repairs next to medical bills and a loss of income. Vanguard's October 1, 2026 article says that if you can plan for the expense without hardship, it may not be an emergency, and you should save for it separately. The two pages do not use the same words. The practical split is the one on the sinking-funds guide: if you can name the cost and the rough amount, give it a monthly line. If you cannot name it, it stays in this fund.

Do not fund both with the same dollars. The $100 insurance line in the example is this month's essential, the amount you would still owe if income stopped. It is not also a sinking fund for a premium you have already set aside. Count it once. After you spend the emergency fund on a real shock, the next transfers refill it. They do not become a vacation.

Common mistakes

Multiplying pay instead of essentials. Six months of take-home pay includes the money you would stop spending. The St. Louis lesson multiplies the essential list. On the example, that is $2,000, not whatever the paycheck was.

Waiting for $12,000 before you have $2,000. The starter is the spending-shock milestone. The 24 months to $6,000 are the rest of the plan. The CFPB guide treats a small balance as useful on the way.

Leaving it in the checking account you spend from. Vanguard says a separate account makes the balance obvious and makes a whim harder. Once the cash moves, it is not this week's safe-to-spend number. The guide linked above is that check.

Calling a named bill an emergency so the sinking fund stays empty. Insurance you can see on a declaration page is a sinking fund. The emergency fund is what remains after those lines have their own money.

Chasing a rate this page will not print. The yield can change. The insurance limit does not make a rate permanent. An account you cannot reach without a penalty is a poor place for the starter.

Monarch Money

Monarch Money is the mainstream app to compare if you want a target, a date, and a monthly contribution tracked against accounts you have already linked. It is the default pick in that comparison. A button that multiplies essential expenses by 3 or by 6: Not documented on the goals page read for this guide. You type the target.

What it does ship is a Save up goal. The article, updated October 19, 2026, says each goal can have a target amount, a target date, and a planned monthly contribution. The steps say to choose a goal type, and the examples are vacation, down payment, or emergency fund. You choose whether spending reduces goal progress. Turn that on for a goal you want to refill. The article uses an emergency fund as that example. Leave it off for a one-time goal, and the example there is a vacation. A status of on track, ahead, or at risk shows up only when the target amount, the target date, and the monthly contribution are all filled in.

A goal with a planned monthly contribution shows up in the budget, in the Contributions section, as a line under Save Up Goals. You can change this month, or future months. Cash accounts, including checking and savings, can fund goals. The same article also lists investment and other asset accounts. For the cash reserve in the sections above, a savings account is the match. Whether a linked investment balance is FDIC insured: Not documented on that page. The FDIC page says mutual funds and stocks are not deposit insurance.

Price, read on monarch.com/pricing on October 28, 2026. There is no free plan. The pricing help, updated March 3, 2026, says Monarch only offers paid subscriptions, in US dollars, plus tax where it applies. Core is $14.99 a month, or $8.33 a month when billed $99.99 a year. Plus is $16.67 a month, billed $199.99 a year. Both plan cards say a free 7-day trial, then that price, and that a payment method is required. Cancel in settings before the trial ends. A month-to-month Plus price was not on the page. Not documented. The Core card lists savings and debt goals. Plus is described as everything in Core, plus later planning tools. A Save up goal limited to Plus: Not documented on the pages checked here.

Monarch also publishes an MCP connector, updated October 22, 2026, for Core and Plus. Read-only is the default. Write access is separate, and you allow it. That connector is a way to ask about goals you already have. It is not an emergency-fund button, and it is not a free plan.

Where FYN fits

FYN is our product, and it is last. The monthly number on this page is a number you write. An emergency-fund screen, or a savings goal with a target date: Not documented on the pricing page. The pricing page lists an autopilot budget on Free and on Pro, next to the home screen and a spending map. It does not say that budget multiplies essential expenses by 3 or by 6.

What the pricing page does list is the record you use to price the next transfer. Receipt photos and emailed receipts are one monthly count, 20 a month on Free and 200 a month on Pro. Apple Pay and Google Wallet purchases are logged as you pay, on Free and on Pro. A grocery run, a premium, or a repair you paid that way shows up as you pay it. Ask FYN is 20 questions a month on Free and 500 on Pro. You can ask about the receipts and the purchases you have saved, then type the essential total yourself.

The free plan is $0. It does not expire and does not ask for a card. It includes 1 household member on Free. A read-only connector lets assistants such as Claude and ChatGPT read FYN data. The free plan includes 500 MCP calls a day. Pro includes 10,000 a day. The MCP docs say a free account does not sync bank accounts, so tools that read bank data return little or no data until a bank is linked. Linking a bank is not on the free plan.

Pro is $9.99 a month. Bank sync is Pro only, through Plaid, for up to 15 accounts. That is the feed that shows the essential total when a bill posts and never produced a receipt photo. The pricing page lists unlimited household members on Pro. Everyone shares the plan's limits. The household page lists an owner, a member, or view-only. Monarch also publishes an MCP connector, on Core and Plus, read-only unless you allow write. Updated October 22, 2026. FYN is not the only one. The plan table is on pricing.

FAQ

How much should be in an emergency fund?

A common rule of thumb is 3 to 6 months of essential expenses, not 3 to 6 months of pay. Vanguard's article dated October 1, 2026 says that, to be conservative, people should have 3 to 6 months of expenses set aside for unexpected expenses or a change in income. The Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, in a 2025 lesson, says experts often recommend 3 to 6 months of essential expenses, and its example list is rent, groceries, transportation, phone service, medicine, and insurance. The CFPB emergency-fund guide, last modified October 29, 2025, does not print 3 to 6 months. It says the amount depends on your situation, and that even a small amount helps if you live paycheck to paycheck or your pay changes. On this page, an example household with $2,000 of essentials has a $6,000 target at 3 months and a $12,000 target at 6 months. Those dollars are an example. They are not a budget. In the 2025 Survey of Household Economics and Decisionmaking, published in the Federal Reserve's May 2026 report, 55 percent of adults said they had set aside money for three months of expenses in an emergency or rainy day fund. 30 percent said they could not cover three months of expenses by any of the means the report lists.

How do you build an emergency fund?

Add one month of essential expenses, pick a starter target, then fund the 3 to 6 month pile with a fixed transfer. The St. Louis Fed lesson says to track a month of spending, sort essentials from non-essentials, and multiply the essentials by 3. Its illustration is $2,400 of essentials, which is $7,200, funded at $300 a month for 24 months, or $150 from each paycheck if you are paid twice a month. Vanguard's October 1, 2026 article uses a nearer milestone for a spending shock: half a month of living expenses, or $2,000, whichever is greater. On this page's example, half of $2,000 is $1,000, so the starter is $2,000. At $250 a month, that starter is 8 months, the $6,000 three-month fund is 24 months, and the $12,000 six-month fund is 48 months. The CFPB guide says a recurring transfer from checking to savings is a common way to make the saving automatic, and to watch the checking balance so the transfer does not cause an overdraft. The dollars are an example.

Where should you keep an emergency fund?

In a savings account you can reach when the bill arrives, and that you will not spend on something else first. The CFPB guide says a bank or credit union account is generally one of the safest places, and that a dedicated account is one option. Cash kept at home can be stolen, lost, or destroyed. The FDIC says deposit insurance covers $250,000 per depositor, per FDIC-insured bank, for each ownership category, and that savings accounts are a covered deposit type. Stocks, bonds, mutual funds, and crypto assets are not covered. The NCUA says an individual account at a federally insured credit union is insured up to $250,000. That figure is insurance if the institution fails. It is not an interest rate. Vanguard's October 1, 2026 article says checking accounts, savings accounts, and money market funds vary in the yield they pay. A savings account people choose because it pays more than a basic savings account is commonly called a high-yield savings account. Regulation DD says a variable-rate account must disclose that the interest rate and the annual percentage yield may change. This page does not quote a rate.

How is an emergency fund different from a sinking fund?

An emergency fund is for a bill you could not name in advance, or for a loss of income. A sinking fund is for a bill you can already name. The CFPB emergency-fund guide lists car repairs, home repairs, medical bills, and a loss of income as unplanned expenses. Vanguard's October 1, 2026 article says that if you can plan for an expense without hardship, save for it separately, and refill the emergency fund after you use it. Annual insurance, holiday gifts, and a repair you already know is coming are the job of a sinking fund. That monthly math is on the sinking-funds guide. Do not count the same dollars in both piles. The CFPB guide and the sinking-fund sources do not draw the car-repair line in the same place. If you can name the repair and roughly price it, give it a sinking-fund line so the emergency fund stays for the bill you could not name.

What if income is irregular, or you are the only earner?

Keep the same 3 to 6 month range, and use the cautious end when one paycheck is the whole household or the paycheck changes size. Vanguard's October 1, 2026 table marks a single income as more savings needed, and two incomes as less. Dependents are more. Income that varies more is more. The table does not print a new month count for those rows. Not documented as a required number. Six months of essentials is the cautious end of the same rule of thumb. The CFPB guide says that if you do not get paid the same amount each week or month, even a small amount helps, and that a tax refund or other one-time check is a useful way to start when income is irregular. Automatic transfers are the tool it names for consistent income. In a thin month, lower the transfer so rent still clears. The safe-to-spend guide is the check on the balance you have now. It is not a replacement for the fund.

Do Monarch Money or FYN have an emergency fund?

Monarch Money has a Save up goal you can type as an emergency fund. The Save up article, updated October 19, 2026, lists emergency fund as a goal type, next to vacation and down payment. Each goal can have a target amount, a target date, and a planned monthly contribution. Turn on Spending reduces goal progress for a fund you want to refill. The article uses an emergency fund as that example. A status of on track, ahead, or at risk needs all three fields. A planned contribution shows in the budget under Save Up Goals. Whether Monarch multiplies your essential expenses by 3 or by 6: Not documented. You type the target. Monarch has no free plan. On monarch.com/pricing, Core is $14.99 a month or $99.99 a year, shown as $8.33 a month. Plus is $199.99 a year, shown as $16.67 a month. The trial is 7 days, and a payment method is required. The Core card lists savings and debt goals. FYN is our product. An emergency-fund screen, or a savings goal with a target date: Not documented on the pricing page. The free plan is $0. It does not expire and does not ask for a card. It includes 1 household member. Receipt photos and emailed receipts are 20 a month as one count. A free account does not sync bank accounts. Bank sync is Pro only, at $9.99 a month, for up to 15 accounts. The pricing page lists unlimited household members on Pro. Everyone shares the plan's limits. A shared member can be an owner, a member, or view-only.

Sources

Checked . These are the pages behind the guide. A line marked Not documented is a fact the linked page does not state.

  • CFPB emergency-fund guide, last modified October 29, 2025. A cash reserve for unplanned expenses. Examples include car repairs, home repairs, medical bills, and a loss of income. The amount depends on your situation. Even a small amount helps if pay is tight or irregular. A dedicated bank or credit union account, a prepaid card, and cash. A recurring transfer, the overdraft caution, a direct-deposit split, and a tax refund as a one-time start: An essential guide to building an emergency fund.
  • Vanguard, October 1, 2026. A common rule of thumb is 3 to 6 months of expenses. A spending shock is half a month of living expenses, or $2,000, whichever is greater. An income shock is 3 to 6 months of living expenses. The illustration at $5,000 a month is $2,500, then $15,000 to $30,000. Single income, dependents, and income that varies call for more savings. The table does not print a replacement month count. Checking and savings vary in yield. FDIC insurance applies to those deposit accounts if the institution fails: Emergency fund: Why you need one.
  • Vanguard emergency-fund guide. The equations are half a month for a spending shock, and monthly expenses times 3 or times 6 for an income shock. Investments may not offer the same safety and access as a savings account. The page does not print a date: Guide to building an emergency fund.
  • Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, 2025 Page One Economics lesson. Experts often recommend 3 to 6 months of essential expenses. Essentials in the lesson include rent, groceries, transportation, phone service, medicine, and insurance. The illustration is $2,400 times 3, which is $7,200, at $300 a month for 24 months, or $150 from each of two paychecks. The lesson's survey table is the 2024 SHED. This page uses the 2025 report for the percentages: When the Unexpected Happens, Be Ready with an Emergency Fund.
  • Federal Reserve, Report on the Economic Well-Being of U.S. Households in 2025, May 2026, Savings and Investments. 63 percent would cover a $400 expense with cash or its equivalent. 55 percent had three months of expenses set aside in an emergency or rainy day fund. 30 percent could not cover three months by any of the means listed: Savings and Investments.
  • Federal Reserve, 2025 SHED appendix B. The question asks whether you have set aside emergency or rainy day funds that would cover expenses for 3 months. Yes, 55 percent. No, 45 percent: Appendix B.
  • FDIC, deposit insurance basics. Coverage is $250,000 per depositor, per FDIC-insured bank, for each ownership category. Savings accounts are covered. Stocks, bonds, mutual funds, and crypto assets are not. Balances in the same ownership category at the same bank are added together: Understanding deposit insurance.
  • NCUA, share insurance. An individual account at a federally insured credit union is insured up to $250,000. Joint accounts are insured up to $250,000 per owner, separately. Private share insurance is not the federal fund: Share insurance coverage.
  • Regulation DD, 12 CFR 1030.4. A variable-rate account must disclose that the interest rate and the annual percentage yield may change: 12 CFR 1030.4.
  • CFPB worksheet, 2016. Fifty percent of take-home pay to needs, 20 percent to savings and debt payments, no more than 30 percent to wants. Emergency savings is one of the savings and debt examples: My spending rule to live by.
  • A named bill, divided by the months until you pay it: sinking funds.
  • Take-home pay, fixed bills, and a first month of spending, before you price the essentials: how to make a budget.
  • What you can spend from the balance you have, until the next payday: how to calculate safe to spend.
  • Needs, wants, and the 20 percent for savings and debt. This page links it instead of repeating the bucket lists: the 50/30/20 budget rule.
  • Monarch Core and Plus prices, the 7-day trial, and the payment method. Core $14.99 a month or $99.99 a year ($8.33 a month). Plus $199.99 a year ($16.67 a month). The Core card lists savings and debt goals: monarch.com/pricing.
  • Monarch pricing help, updated March 3, 2026. Paid subscriptions only. The dollar amounts are on the pricing page, not in this article: Pricing.
  • Using Save Up Goals, updated October 19, 2026. Emergency fund is a goal type. Target amount, target date, and planned monthly contribution. Spending reduces goal progress is the refill switch. The contribution appears in the budget under Save Up Goals: Using Save Up Goals.
  • Monarch MCP connector, on Core and Plus, read-only unless you allow write. Updated October 22, 2026: Monarch MCP connector.
  • FYN pricing. Free does not expire and does not ask for a card. One household member on Free. Receipts 20 a month. Apple Pay and Google Wallet purchases logged as you pay. Ask FYN. Pro is $9.99 a month, with unlimited household members. Bank sync is Pro only, up to 15 accounts: pricing.
  • FYN household roles. An owner, a member, or view-only: household.
  • FYN MCP docs. Read-only. 500 calls a day on the free plan. A free account does not sync a bank: MCP docs.

Take control of your money

AI-powered budgeting, receipt scanning, and proactive spending alerts. Free to start.

Get Started for Free