Back to Blog
Guides11 min read

How to Make a Budget

A budget is a plan for the cash you can actually spend. You write down what arrives, what has to leave, and what is left, then you decide the leftover before you spend it. It is a first budget, for 2026, if you have never written one down. It is not a grade, and it is not a rule you have to hit before you are allowed to buy groceries.

The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau published the same order on June 5, 2019: where the money comes from, where it goes, which bills are due and when, then a working budget. The method you use to split the leftover comes after those facts. The 50/30/20 rule is one method. It is not the only one, and this page does not re-teach it.

Two paychecks are a different page. Joint accounts, separate accounts, and a yours, mine, ours setup, including a split by income, are on how to budget as a couple. This page stays on one first budget.

Checked . The prices in the tools section were read from the vendor pages linked at the end. A fact a page does not state is marked Not documented.

The steps

  1. Figure out take-home pay. Write the amount that lands in the account after taxes and the other amounts taken out of the paycheck. Add every source you can spend. The CFPB post names a job, self-employment, child support, and government benefits. A salary before those deductions is gross pay. Gross pay makes the plan larger than the cash you can move. If you are paid every two weeks, two checks are not a month. There are 26 of those checks in a year. The arithmetic is on the 50/30/20 budget rule guide. Use it, then come back. This page does not repeat it.
  2. List the fixed bills. Rent or a mortgage, utilities, a phone, insurance, and the minimum payment on a card or a loan. Write the amount and the day it is due. The CFPB post says a shortfall is sometimes a timing problem: the bill leaves before the next paycheck arrives. A subscription you forgot is a fixed bill too. How to find those is on how to find and cancel subscriptions.
  3. Track a month of spending. Everything that is not on the fixed list: groceries, getting around, eating out, and the small purchases that do not feel like a bill. The CFPB post says this is the heavy step, and that a week is enough to start if a month feels like too much. Use receipts, or the checking account, or a note you write the same day. The four ways to keep that record, with one example week, are on how to track your spending. Keeping the paper and the email is its own job. That guide is how to keep track of receipts. Naming those purchases as a budget categories list, fixed against variable, is on budget categories.
  4. Pick one method and keep it for the month. The three below are 50/30/20, zero-based, and an envelope with pay yourself first. Pick one list of rules and do not mix them in the same month. Switching halfway makes the numbers look better without changing what you spent.
  5. Set a savings goal and move that money first. Name what the money is for. The FDIC, in a January 2024 article, says to plan for costs you can already see, and to consider an emergency fund that would cover at least six months of living expenses. The same article says that if a percent of the paycheck is too much, begin with any amount you can keep. Putting a set amount aside on purpose, before you are tempted to spend it, is what the FDIC calls paying yourself first. A bill that does not come every month, such as annual insurance or holiday gifts, gets its own monthly amount. That division, with worked examples, is on sinking funds.
  6. Review it weekly, and again at the end of the month. The CFPB post says a folder of receipts you look through at the end of each week is one way to keep up, and that you should update the budget when a job or your spending habits change. A weekly look catches a bill you left off. A monthly look uses what you actually spent to write the next plan. Do not wait for a perfect month to start the next one. Comparing each planned category with what you spent, and when that gap means a new plan, is on budget vs actuals.

A worked example

Example only. These are round numbers chosen so the arithmetic is easy to check. They are not a budget, a target for your rent, or a recommendation.

Take-home pay for the month is $3,000. Fixed bills: rent $1,200, utilities $150, a phone $40, insurance $110, and a minimum card payment $100. That is $1,600. Other spending you tracked: groceries $400, getting around $80, eating out $150, and everything else $120. That is $750.

Example month on $3,000 take-home pay: $1,600 fixed bills, $750 other spending, $650 left, of which $300 moves to savings first.
LineExample
Take-home pay$3,000
Fixed bills$1,600
Other spending you tracked$750
Left before you assign it$650
Savings moved first$300
Still to give a job$350

$3,000 minus $1,600 minus $750 is $650. That $650 is what last month did not already spend. Next month, decide it before you spend it. One plan for the example: move $300 to savings on payday, put $200 toward a car repair fund, and leave $150 for anything the $750 list did not already name. $300 plus $200 plus $150 is $650. Nothing in the leftover is still unnamed. That is the whole trick. The dollars are an example.

The same $3,000 does not fit a 50 percent needs line. Half of $3,000 is $1,500, and the fixed bills are already $1,600 before groceries. What to do when rent or a minimum payment breaks the rule is on the 50/30/20 budget rule guide, including that guide's own $4,000 walkthrough. This example stops there on purpose.

A budget answers the month. Until the next payday, a different sum is useful: the balance you have now, minus the bills that will leave before you are paid again. That formula, with its own round numbers, is on how to calculate safe to spend.

Checklist

Copy these lines onto paper, or print this page and fill the blanks. One month, one pass.

Printable budget checklist: take-home pay, fixed bills, tracked spending, one method, savings moved first, and the next review date.
Write this downYour figure
Take-home pay this month, every source that arrives________
Each fixed bill, the amount, and the day it is due________
Other spending for one month, or one week to start________
The one method you will keep this month________
Savings you move before the rest of the spending________
The day you will look again________

Three ways to divide the same month

Use the steps above first. The method is how you label the dollars after you know them. Keep one method for the whole month.

50/30/20. Needs are 50 percent of take-home pay, wants are 30 percent, and savings plus debt payoff are 20 percent. Elizabeth Warren described that split, and the CFPB and HSBC each publish a version. The lists of what sits in each bucket are not the same, which is where people get the rule wrong. The percentages, the pitfalls, biweekly pay, high rent, and debt are on the 50/30/20 budget rule guide. A calculator on this site multiplies a number you type. It does not read a paycheck. Open it at the budget calculator. In the $3,000 example, fixed bills alone are already over the 50 percent line. That is a reason to read the other guide, not a reason to copy its table onto this one.

Zero-based. YNAB's article, updated October 14, 2026, says zero-based budgeting assigns every dollar to a specific purpose before you spend it, until nothing is left to assign. The zero includes savings, an emergency fund, and goals. It does not mean you spend the account down to empty. You decide what the money you already have needs to do before you are paid again. In the example, the $650 gets three jobs and then there is nothing left to name. If the bills are larger than the cash, the method shows the gap. It does not create the missing dollars. YNAB is the app built around this method. The price is in the tools section.

Envelope, or pay yourself first. The same YNAB article describes the cash envelope method as the analog version of that idea: labeled envelopes, and the cash divided into them. When you do it on paper, groceries are one envelope and eating out is another. YNAB treats that as the same plan, done with cash instead of categories on a screen. The physical routine, stuffed at the start of the month, is cash stuffing. Cash still in a category when the month ends, and a shortfall that stays, is a rolling budget. Pay yourself first is a different habit, and it can sit on top of any method. The steps, a worked transfer, and how Monarch records it are on pay yourself first. The FDIC says putting a set amount aside on an ongoing basis is paying yourself first, because you save before you are tempted to spend. In the example, the $300 leaves for savings on payday, before the eating-out money is available to spend. A direct deposit into a savings account is one way the FDIC says to do that. The six-month emergency fund is the FDIC's suggestion for a goal, not a balance you need before the first month counts. The app version of those envelopes, set next to Monarch's categories, is Goodbudget vs Monarch Money.

Irregular pay uses the same steps with a smaller promise. The CFPB post says to count every source, and it does not name which month to copy when pay swings. YNAB's article says to assign the money you have now, and to assign more when it arrives, instead of budgeting a paycheck that has not landed. A bonus that will not repeat is not the new rent line.

Tools that help

Checked Oct 28, 2026. Pen and paper is enough, and so is a spreadsheet. You already have the lines in the checklist. No account, and no price.

Monarch Money is the app to compare if you want spending to land in categories without typing every line by hand. It is the default pick in that comparison, not a requirement. Price, read on monarch.com/pricing on October 28, 2026. The page lists two paid plans. Core is $14.99 a month, or $8.33 a month when billed $99.99 a year. Plus is $16.67 a month, billed $199.99 a year. Both plan cards say a free 7-day trial, then that price, and that a payment method is required. Cancel in settings before the trial ends. A month-to-month Plus price was not on the page. Not documented. The pricing help, updated March 3, 2026, says Monarch only offers paid subscriptions, in US dollars, plus tax where it applies. The dollar amounts live on the pricing page, not in that article.

How Monarch files needs, wants, and savings is on the 50/30/20 budget rule guide, including that a switch named 50/30/20 is not documented on the budget help pages checked for that guide. Whether Core is worth paying is on is Monarch Money worth it. Other paid apps are on Monarch Money alternatives and the best budget apps in 2026 roundup. Apps with a free tier, and what each free tier leaves out, are on best free budget apps.

YNAB is the pick when the method you chose is zero-based. Price, read on ynab.com/pricing on October 28, 2026. The monthly plan is $14.99. The annual plan is $109, shown as $9.08 a month. Both are US dollars, plus tax where it applies. The trial is 34 days. No credit card is required when you sign up directly through YNAB. The page says third-party app stores may require a card for a trial. A head-to-head with Monarch, for when the method matters more than the monthly price, is YNAB vs Monarch Money.

Where FYN fits

FYN is our product, and it is last. It does not run the 50/30/20 split, a zero-based plan, or envelope math for you. A preset that does that inside the app: Not documented on the pricing page. The steps on this page are something you write. The app is a different job.

The free plan is $0. It does not expire and does not ask for a card. It includes receipt photos and emailed receipts, 20 a month as one count, which is one way to keep the month of spending in the steps above. Ask FYN is 20 questions a month. You can ask about the receipts you have saved. A read-only connector lets assistants such as Claude and ChatGPT read that same data. The free plan includes 500 MCP calls a day.

The MCP docs say a free account does not sync bank accounts, so tools that read bank data return little or no data until a bank is linked. Linking a bank is not on the free plan. Pro is $9.99 a month. Bank sync is Pro only, through Plaid, for up to 15 accounts. The pricing page lists 1 household member on Free and unlimited household members on Pro. Everyone shares the plan's limits. A shared member can be an owner, a member, or view-only. Monarch also publishes an MCP connector, on Core and Plus, read-only unless you allow write. Updated October 22, 2026. FYN is not the only one. The plan table is on pricing.

FAQ

How do I make a budget if I have never had one?

Write down the cash that actually arrives, then the bills that leave, then what you spent. The CFPB post from June 5, 2019 uses four steps: where the money comes from, where it goes, which bills are due and when, then a working budget. Track a month if you can. The same post says a week of receipts or a checking account is enough to start. Pick one method and keep it for that month. Move a savings amount before you spend the rest. The worked example on this page uses $3,000 of take-home pay, $1,600 of fixed bills, and $750 of other spending, which leaves $650. Those figures are an example.

Do I use gross pay or take-home pay?

Use take-home pay, the amount that lands after taxes and other paycheck deductions. Gross pay makes every line larger than the cash you can move. The CFPB post says to count every source you can actually use: a job, self-employment, child support, and government benefits. If you are paid every two weeks, two checks are not a month. There are 26 of those checks in a year. The arithmetic, and why it matters for the 50/30/20 rule, is on the 50/30/20 guide.

Which budget method should a beginner use?

Pick one and do not switch halfway through the month. The 50/30/20 rule puts needs at 50 percent, wants at 30 percent, and savings plus debt at 20 percent of take-home pay. The lists of what sits in each bucket, the pitfalls, and what to do when rent or debt breaks the 50 percent are on the 50/30/20 guide. Zero-based budgeting, as YNAB describes it in the article updated October 14, 2026, gives every dollar a job until nothing is left to assign. Savings counts toward that zero. YNAB describes the cash envelope method as the same idea with cash in labeled envelopes. Pay yourself first, as the FDIC describes it, is a set savings amount you move before you are tempted to spend. That habit can sit inside any of the methods.

How often should I review a budget?

Look once a week, and again when the month ends or your pay changes. The CFPB post says a folder of receipts reviewed at the end of each week is one way to track as you go, and that you should update the budget when a job or your spending habits change. A weekly look catches a bill you left off the list. A monthly look uses what you actually spent to set the next plan. Until the next payday, a different sum answers a different question: what is safe to spend from the balance you have now. That formula is on the safe-to-spend guide. It is a pace until payday. A budget is a plan for the month.

Do I need an app to make a budget?

No. Pen and paper, or a spreadsheet, can hold the same lines. Monarch Money is the paid app to compare if you want spending filed into categories. On monarch.com/pricing, checked October 28, 2026, Core is $14.99 a month or $99.99 a year, shown as $8.33 a month. Plus is $199.99 a year, shown as $16.67 a month. The trial is 7 days, and a payment method is required. The Monarch help center, updated March 3, 2026, says Monarch only offers paid subscriptions. YNAB is the zero-based pick. On ynab.com/pricing, checked the same day, the monthly plan is $14.99 and the annual plan is $109, shown as $9.08 a month. The trial is 34 days. No credit card is required when you sign up directly through YNAB. Prices are in US dollars, plus tax where it applies.

Does FYN make the budget for me?

No. FYN is our product, and a preset that runs 50/30/20, zero-based, or envelope math inside the app is not on the pricing page. The free plan is $0. It does not expire and does not ask for a card. It includes receipt photos and emailed receipts, 20 a month as one count, and Ask FYN, 20 questions a month. A read-only connector lets assistants such as Claude and ChatGPT read FYN data. The free plan includes 500 MCP calls a day. A free account does not sync bank accounts. Bank sync is Pro only, at $9.99 a month, for up to 15 accounts. The pricing page lists 1 household member on Free and unlimited household members on Pro. Everyone shares the plan's limits. A shared member can be an owner, a member, or view-only. Monarch also publishes an MCP connector, on Core and Plus, read-only unless you allow write. FYN is not the only one.

Sources

Checked . These are the pages behind the guide. A line marked Not documented is a fact the linked page does not state.

  • CFPB, June 5, 2019. Income, spending, a bill calendar, then a working budget. A week of receipts is enough to start. Update the budget when a job or spending habits change: Budgeting: How to create a budget and stick with it.
  • FDIC Consumer News, January 2024. Paying yourself first means a set amount saved before you spend. Consider an emergency fund of at least six months of living expenses. Any amount counts if a percent of pay is too much: Starting Small Can Lead to Big Savings.
  • YNAB, updated October 14, 2026. Zero-based budgeting assigns every dollar a job, including savings. The cash envelope method is described there as the analog version: What is zero-based budgeting?.
  • The 50/30/20 rule, the bucket lists, biweekly pay, and what to do when the 50 percent breaks. This page links it instead of repeating it: the 50/30/20 budget rule.
  • Safe to spend until payday. A balance formula, not a monthly plan: how to calculate safe to spend.
  • The calculator on this site. You type the income: budget calculator.
  • Monarch Core and Plus prices, the 7-day trial, and the payment method. Core $14.99 a month or $99.99 a year ($8.33 a month). Plus $199.99 a year ($16.67 a month): monarch.com/pricing.
  • Monarch pricing help, updated March 3, 2026. Paid subscriptions only. The dollar amounts are on the pricing page, not in this article: Pricing.
  • Monarch MCP connector, on Core and Plus, read-only unless you allow write. Updated October 22, 2026: Monarch MCP connector.
  • YNAB prices. $14.99 a month, or $109 a year shown as $9.08 a month. A 34-day trial. No credit card when you sign up directly through YNAB: ynab.com/pricing.
  • FYN pricing. Free does not expire and does not ask for a card. Receipts 20 a month, Ask FYN 20 a month. Pro is $9.99 a month. Bank sync is Pro only, up to 15 accounts: pricing.
  • FYN MCP docs. Read-only. 500 calls a day on the free plan. A free account does not sync a bank: MCP docs. The pricing page lists 1 household member on Free and unlimited household members on Pro.

Take control of your money

AI-powered budgeting, receipt scanning, and proactive spending alerts. Free to start.

Get Started for Free