Debt Snowball vs Avalanche
Debt snowball and debt avalanche are two orders for the same extra payment. Snowball sends the extra to the smallest balance. Avalanche sends it to the highest interest rate. You keep paying the other debts. When one balance hits zero, its payment joins the next debt in that order.
The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, in a post dated July 16, 2019, names the two orders without using the word avalanche. The highest interest rate method pays the costliest rate first. The snowball method pays the smallest debt first, then rolls that payment to the next smallest. The CFPB says the rate method can save money, and the snowball lets you see progress sooner and may cost more. NerdWallet's snowball page, updated October 9, 2026, and its avalanche page, updated October 21, 2026, use those two names for the same split. Investopedia's glossaries match them: snowball pays smaller balances before larger ones, and avalanche pays the highest rate after the minimums.
Checked . The prices in the apps section were read from the vendor pages linked at the end. A fact a page does not state is marked Not documented. The debts below are an example. They are not a quote of what you owe, and they are not a recommendation to borrow.
The two orders
Both methods start from a list. For each debt, write the balance, the interest rate, and the minimum payment. Then pick one sort.
- Snowball: smallest balance first. Ignore the rates. Pay the minimum on every debt, and put any extra on the smallest balance. When it is gone, add what you were paying on it to the next smallest. The CFPB's reducing-debt worksheet, last modified March 17, 2026, says to list debts from smallest to largest and, when one is paid off, to put the entire payment on the next. NerdWallet's steps, updated October 9, 2026, say to leave a mortgage off that list.
- Avalanche: highest rate first. Ignore the balances, except as a tie-break. Pay the minimum on every debt, and put any extra on the highest rate. When it is gone, move that payment to the next highest rate. The CFPB calls this the highest interest rate method. Vanguard's payoff page uses the avalanche name, and if two debts share a rate it says to pay the lower balance first. This example has no tie.
- Keep paying everyone else. A missed minimum can add a fee and, on a card, a higher penalty rate. Neither order is a reason to skip a bill. The extra is what is left after the minimums, the rent, and the groceries.
The first pass, writing down take-home pay and a month of spending, is on how to make a budget. The extra in the example has to be money you can send without missing a bill that is already due. That check is on how to calculate safe to spend.
Worked example
Example only. Three debts, chosen so the snowball order and the avalanche order are not the same list. They are not a budget and not a quote of a typical household.
| Debt | Balance | APR | Minimum |
|---|---|---|---|
| Store card | $800 | 8.99% | $25 |
| Credit card | $3,200 | 22.99% | $70 |
| Auto loan | $1,600 | 6.49% | $50 |
| Total | $5,600 | Three different rates | $145 |
The run uses these rules, and no others.
- No new charges, no fees, and no change in the APR.
- Interest is monthly. Each month, interest is the balance times the APR divided by 12, rounded to the nearest cent. A half cent rounds up. Investopedia's avalanche glossary says most credit card balances compound daily, and that some loans compound monthly. This example is the monthly version. A daily compound on the same APR will not match these cents.
- Each minimum is a fixed dollar amount. It does not fall as the balance falls. A real card minimum is often a percent of the balance, with a floor. Not this example. Each minimum is larger than the first month of interest, so every balance can fall even before the extra: $25 is more than $5.99, $70 is more than $61.31, and $50 is more than $8.65.
- You send $395 a month, which is the $145 of minimums plus $250 extra, until the last month. The last month is only what is left, including that month's interest.
- Every debt that still has a balance gets its minimum, or its payoff if that is smaller. Whatever is left of the $395 goes to the first unpaid debt in that method's order. If that debt hits zero, the leftover is paid to the next debt in the same month.
- A mortgage is not in the list. NerdWallet's steps leave a mortgage off. The CFPB examples are credit cards and student loans. Whether a mortgage belongs in the order: the pages do not all say the same thing.
Month 1 interest, before any payment: the store card is $800 times 0.0899 divided by 12, which rounds to $5.99. The credit card is $3,200 times 0.2299 divided by 12, which rounds to $61.31. The auto loan is $1,600 times 0.0649 divided by 12, which rounds to $8.65. Snowball puts the extra on the store card, so that card gets $275 and the other two get their minimums. $800 plus $5.99 minus $275 is $530.99 still owed on the store card.
The orders:
- Snowball: store card ($800), auto loan ($1,600), credit card ($3,200).
- Avalanche: credit card (22.99%), store card (8.99%), auto loan (6.49%).
- Hybrid, on this page: store card first, for one payoff, then the credit card, then the auto loan. Smallest balance, then highest rate among what is left.
| Debt | Snowball | Avalanche | Hybrid |
|---|---|---|---|
| Store card | Month 3, $11.92 | Month 13, $64.59 | Month 3, $11.92 |
| Credit card | Month 17, $756.62 | Month 12, $386.78 | Month 14, $531.79 |
| Auto loan | Month 8, $47.58 | Month 16, $104.76 | Month 16, $105.95 |
| All three | 17 months, $816.12 | 16 months, $556.13 | 16 months, $649.66 |
Avalanche interest is $259.99 lower than snowball, and the debts are gone one month sooner. The hybrid costs $93.53 more interest than avalanche and $166.46 less than snowball, and it finishes in the same 16 months as avalanche. The store card is still gone in month 3, which is the snowball's early payoff. The credit card then waits until month 14 instead of month 12.
Total paid is principal plus interest. $5,600 plus $816.12 is $6,416.12 for the snowball. $5,600 plus $556.13 is $6,156.13 for the avalanche. $5,600 plus $649.66 is $6,249.66 for the hybrid. The $395 does not go out for every one of those months. Snowball sends $395 for 16 months ($6,320) and $96.12 in month 17. Avalanche sends $395 for 15 months ($5,925) and $231.13 in month 16. The hybrid sends $395 for 15 months and $324.66 in month 16.
One more row, so the order is not the whole story. If you pay only each debt's own minimum, and you do not redirect a finished minimum to another debt, these balances take 110 months and $4,774.04 of interest. Total paid is $10,374.04. The $250 extra, with the roll when a debt ends, is a larger change than snowball versus avalanche. The $259.99 gap is real. It is smaller than the gap between any of the three plans and minimums that never move.
When each method fits
Avalanche fits when you will keep paying a large balance. The CFPB says to use the highest interest rate method if you are motivated by saving the most money. NerdWallet's avalanche page, updated October 21, 2026, quotes planner Robert Finley: paying the highest-interest debt first saves the most money over time, and every extra dollar on that debt reduces later interest even if the first balance takes a while. On this example the credit card is both the highest rate and the largest balance. Avalanche does not zero a debt until month 12. The interest saved against the snowball is $259.99.
Snowball fits when you need a zero, or you have quit a plan before. The CFPB says to consider the snowball if you are motivated by seeing progress quickly. NerdWallet's snowball page, updated October 9, 2026, says it is the method if you have started and abandoned a payoff plan, or if the smallest debt could be gone in about three months. In this example the store card is gone in month 3. The same page says you will usually pay more interest than with the avalanche, and that the gap widens when one balance carries a much higher rate. That is this example: 22.99% against 8.99% and 6.49%.
The research on small wins is narrower than the slogan. Kellogg Insight, January 8, 2014, describes a 2012 Journal of Marketing Research paper by David Gal and Blakeley B. McShane, then at Kellogg. The data are nearly 6,000 clients of a debt settlement firm. Those clients did not pick the order. The firm paid creditors from one account. Closing accounts predicted finishing the program better than the share of dollars paid off. A figure note says a start-small order was about 14% more likely to eliminate the debt after a year, and 43% by year four, compared with no systematic strategy. Gal says dollars still matter, and that starting small is worth weighing if the difference in rates is modest. This example's rate gap is not modest. The paper is not a trial of people choosing snowball or avalanche on their own cards.
The hybrid is the first snowball win, then the avalanche. The CFPB worksheet names only the two pure orders. Not documented there as a third method. Investopedia's snowball glossary says that if your smallest debt is also your highest-rate debt, you do not have to choose. That is not this list. Here the hybrid and the avalanche differ for the first three months, and then the extra moves to the 22.99% card. You give up $93.53 of the avalanche's savings and you still zero the store card in month 3. Use it when you want that zero and you will then follow the rate, not the next smallest balance. The next smallest balance here is the auto loan, which is what the pure snowball attacks in month 4, while the expensive card keeps compounding.
Where the extra payment comes from
The $250 is not a property of the method. It is money you were going to spend on something else, or money you did not know was unassigned. In zero-based budgeting, that extra is a job. Income minus the assignments, including the debt payment, equals zero. The cash goes to the creditor. It is not a leftover you discover at the end of the month.
Vanguard's payoff page starts from a budget, and one approach it names is the 50/30/20 rule: needs, wants, and savings plus debt. A sinking fund is how a bill you can already name stays off the card. Car insurance, a repair, and an annual subscription are the usual list. That monthly set-aside is on sinking funds. A new charge on the card in the example is a fourth debt, and it breaks the totals above.
Monarch Money
Monarch Money is the mainstream app to compare if you want the payoff order on liability accounts you have linked. It is the default pick in that comparison. The Pay down goals article, updated October 19, 2026, is the page that names the two methods.
Each liability account shows up as a pay down goal. You do not create a separate debt goal. The account is the goal. You can set the APR, including 0%, a minimum monthly payment, and an optional planned payment. The article says the minimum should be principal and interest only, not tax or insurance. Those fields are what the debt-free date and the projected interest use. A card you pay in full every month can be excluded so it does not sit in the projection. Mortgages and auto loans can be included. Any liability can appear. Closed, deleted, or asset-type accounts may not.
The savings calculator runs a simulation without changing what you pay, until you choose to save it. The three methods on that screen are avalanche (highest interest first), snowball (smallest balances first), and planned payments (the minimum or the planned amount only). A monthly extra, a one-time extra, or both, are available for avalanche and snowball. The article says Monarch then rolls the full payment from a paid-off debt, including the minimum or planned payment, into the remaining balances. The chart updates. Save to Budget writes that plan, including the method you selected, into Contributions, under Pay down. A one-time extra lands in the current month only. A hybrid order, smallest first and then highest rate: Not documented. How the calculator rounds interest, and whether a card compounds daily: Not documented on that article. Do not expect it to reprint the $556.13 from the table above.
Price, read on monarch.com/pricing on October 28, 2026. There is no free plan. The pricing help, updated March 3, 2026, says Monarch only offers paid subscriptions, in US dollars, plus tax where it applies. Core is $14.99 a month, or $8.33 a month when billed $99.99 a year. Plus is $16.67 a month, billed $199.99 a year. Both plan cards say a free 7-day trial, then that price, and that a payment method is required. Cancel in settings before the trial ends. A month-to-month Plus price was not on the page. Not documented. The pricing comparison lists savings and debt pay down goals on Core and on Plus. A Pay down calculator limited to Plus: Not documented on the pages checked here. The longer price notes are on Monarch Money pricing.
YNAB
YNAB's debt guide recommends the snowball. List balances from smallest to largest, pay the minimum on every debt except the one you are attacking, and put the extra on the smallest balance. The same guide describes the avalanche: highest rate to lowest rate, less interest overall, and a better path when the balances are similar and the rates are not. It does not run this page's three-debt table.
The loan payoff simulator is a different screen. The help article, updated September 28, 2026, says you can test payment amounts or a payoff date, and see the interest you will save and when you will be debt-free. The pricing page calls that an integrated loan calculator, under the line about demolishing debt. A side-by-side of snowball, avalanche, and a hybrid on three debts: Not documented on that help page. Price, read on ynab.com/pricing on October 28, 2026. The monthly plan is $14.99. The annual plan is $109, shown as $9.08 a month. Both are US dollars, plus tax where it applies. The trial is 34 days. No credit card is required when you sign up directly through YNAB. The page says third-party app stores may require a card for a trial. A head-to-head with Monarch is YNAB vs Monarch Money.
EveryDollar
EveryDollar is the snowball app. Its plan page says you pay debts from smallest to largest regardless of interest rate, get a quick win, and track progress. If the plan is off track, it recommends a new payment and where to find the margin. The Baby Step 2 help, updated September 25, 2026, is the same order: list smallest to largest, minimums on the other debts, attack the smallest, then roll that payment. The debt-tracking help says EveryDollar lists debts smallest to largest. An on-track flag and a debt-free date you can adjust are marked Premium on that article. An avalanche order: Not documented on the pages checked for this guide.
Price, read on ramseysolutions.com/money/everydollar on October 28, 2026. The free version is one you can keep. Premium, after a 14-day trial for new users, is $17.99 a month, or $79.99 a year shown as $6.67 a month. Bank connect is Premium. The premium list on that page includes a debt payoff tracker. Whether the trial asks for a card: Not documented on that page. The comparison with Monarch is EveryDollar vs Monarch Money.
Where FYN fits
FYN is our product, and it is last. The order in the table is a decision you make from the balances and the rates. A debt payoff screen that sorts snowball against avalanche, or a payoff date computed from an APR: Not documented on the pricing page. The $395 is a number you choose. The pricing page does not build that table.
What the pricing page does list is the record you use to find the extra. Receipt photos and emailed receipts are one monthly count, 20 a month on Free and 200 a month on Pro. Apple Pay and Google Wallet purchases are logged as you pay, on Free and on Pro. A subscription, a fee, or a card purchase you can cut shows up as you pay it. Ask FYN is 20 questions a month on Free and 500 on Pro. You can ask about the receipts and the purchases you have saved. That is not a second copy of the payoff table.
The free plan is $0. It does not expire and does not ask for a card. It includes 1 household member. A free account does not sync bank accounts. Linking a bank is not on the free plan.
Pro is $9.99 a month. Bank sync is Pro only, through Plaid, for up to 15 accounts. That is the feed for the payment when it posts, including a payment that never produced a receipt photo. The pricing page lists unlimited household members on Pro. Everyone shares the plan's limits. A shared member can be an owner, a member, or view-only. The plan table is on pricing.
FAQ
What is the debt snowball method?
The debt snowball method pays the smallest balance first. You still pay every other debt. The extra money goes to the smallest balance until it is gone, and then that whole payment moves to the next smallest balance. The CFPB, in a post dated July 16, 2019, calls this the snowball method: minimum payments on all of your debts, extra funds toward the smallest, then the freed-up money on the next smallest. The CFPB says you see progress quickly and may pay more in the long run. NerdWallet's snowball page, updated October 9, 2026, uses the same order and says to leave a mortgage off the list. Investopedia's snowball glossary says the method pays smaller debts before larger ones, and that Dave Ramsey popularized it. On this page's example, the snowball order is the $800 store card, then the $1,600 auto loan, then the $3,200 credit card. That run takes 17 months and $816.12 of interest. Those figures are this page's arithmetic under the assumptions in the worked example. They are not a quote from the CFPB, NerdWallet, or Investopedia.
What is the debt avalanche method?
The debt avalanche method pays the highest interest rate first. You still pay every other debt. The extra money goes to the highest rate until it is gone, and then that whole payment moves to the next highest rate. The CFPB post dated July 16, 2019 calls this the highest interest rate method, not the avalanche. The order is the same. The CFPB says it can save money in the long run and may not feel like progress if that first debt is large. NerdWallet's avalanche page, updated October 21, 2026, uses the name debt avalanche for that order. Investopedia's avalanche glossary defines it as minimum payments on each debt, then the highest interest rate. Vanguard's payoff page uses the same order, and if two debts share a rate, it says to pay the lower balance first. On this page's example the avalanche order is the credit card at 22.99%, then the store card at 8.99%, then the auto loan at 6.49%. That run takes 16 months and $556.13 of interest.
Which method costs less interest in the example?
Avalanche. On the same three debts, the same $395 a month, and the same monthly rounding, avalanche interest is $556.13 in 16 months. Snowball interest is $816.12 in 17 months. The gap is $259.99 and one month. The hybrid on this page, smallest balance first and then highest rate, costs $649.66 in 16 months. That is $93.53 more interest than avalanche and $166.46 less than snowball. Total paid, which is the $5,600 of principal plus the interest, is $6,156.13 for avalanche, $6,249.66 for the hybrid, and $6,416.12 for snowball. Paying only each debt's own minimum, and not redirecting a finished minimum, takes 110 months and $4,774.04 of interest. The $250 extra is a larger change than the choice of order. A real card that compounds daily, or a minimum that falls as the balance falls, will not match these cents. The assumptions are in the worked example.
What is a hybrid, and when does each method fit?
The hybrid on this page pays the smallest balance first, then switches the debts that remain to highest interest rate. It is one early payoff, then the avalanche. The CFPB worksheet names the two pure orders and does not name a hybrid. Not documented there. NerdWallet's snowball page, updated October 9, 2026, says the snowball fits if you have quit a payoff plan before, or if the smallest debt could be gone in about three months. In this example the store card is gone in month 3 under the snowball and the hybrid. The same page says the avalanche is the better money choice if you have not fallen off a plan and one rate sits far above the others. Here the credit card is 22.99% and the next rate is 8.99%. Kellogg Insight, January 8, 2014, describes Gal and McShane's 2012 Journal of Marketing Research paper. In a debt-settlement sample of nearly 6,000 people, closing accounts predicted finishing the program better than the dollar amount paid off. The clients did not choose the order. The firm did. The article says starting small is worth considering if the gap in rates is modest. This example's gap is not modest, and avalanche costs $259.99 less. Use avalanche if you will keep paying when the first balance is the large one. Use the snowball if you need a balance to hit zero soon or you have quit a plan before. Use the hybrid if you want that first zero and then the higher rate.
Do Monarch Money, YNAB, EveryDollar, or FYN compare the methods?
Monarch Money's Pay down goals article, updated October 19, 2026, has a savings calculator with three choices: avalanche, snowball, and planned payments. Avalanche pays highest-interest debts first. Snowball pays smallest balances first. Monthly and one-time extra payments are only for avalanche or snowball. The article says Monarch rolls the full payment from a paid-off debt into the remaining balances. The simulation does not change the budget until you save it. A hybrid order: Not documented. Monarch has no free plan. On monarch.com/pricing, checked October 28, 2026, Core is $14.99 a month or $99.99 a year, shown as $8.33 a month. Plus is $199.99 a year, shown as $16.67 a month. The trial is 7 days, and a payment method is required. YNAB's debt guide recommends the snowball and also describes the avalanche. Its loan payoff simulator, in a help article updated September 28, 2026, tests payment amounts or a payoff date on a loan. A side-by-side of snowball, avalanche, and a hybrid: Not documented on that page. On ynab.com/pricing, checked October 28, 2026, YNAB is $14.99 a month or $109 a year, shown as $9.08 a month. The trial is 34 days. No credit card is required when you sign up directly through YNAB. EveryDollar's plan page says it works the debt snowball, smallest to largest, regardless of interest rate. Premium is $17.99 a month, or $79.99 a year shown as $6.67 a month, after a 14-day trial for new users. An avalanche order in EveryDollar: Not documented on the pages checked. FYN is our product. A debt payoff screen that orders snowball against avalanche: Not documented on the pricing page. The free plan is $0. It does not expire and does not ask for a card. It includes 1 household member. Receipt photos and emailed receipts are 20 a month on Free and 200 a month on Pro. A free account does not sync bank accounts. Bank sync is Pro only, at $9.99 a month, for up to 15 accounts. The pricing page lists unlimited household members on Pro.
Sources
Checked . These are the pages behind the guide. A line marked Not documented is a fact the linked page does not state. The payoff totals are this page's month-by-month arithmetic under the rules in the worked example.
- CFPB, July 16, 2019. Highest interest rate method and snowball method. Minimums on all debts, extra on the target, then the freed payment on the next debt. The rate method can save money. The snowball shows progress sooner and may cost more: How to reduce your debt.
- CFPB reducing-debt worksheet, file last modified March 17, 2026. List by highest rate or by smallest balance. Put the extra on that debt. When it is paid off, move the entire payment to the next debt. Pros and cons match the blog post: Reducing debt worksheet.
- NerdWallet snowball, updated October 9, 2026. Smallest balance first, mortgage left off the list, roll the whole payment. Fits if you have quit a plan before, or the smallest debt could be gone in about three months. You will usually pay more interest than with the avalanche: How debt snowball works.
- NerdWallet avalanche, updated October 21, 2026. Highest rate first. Finley: the highest-interest debt first saves the most over time. A large first balance can take a while: What is the debt avalanche method?.
- Investopedia, debt avalanche glossary. Minimum payments, then the highest interest rate. Most credit card balances compound daily. Some loans compound monthly: Debt avalanche.
- Investopedia, debt snowball glossary. Smaller balances first. Dave Ramsey popularized the method. If the smallest debt is also the highest rate, the two orders match: Debt snowball.
- Vanguard. Avalanche is highest rate first, and a tie goes to the lower balance. Snowball is lowest balance first. The page also names the 50/30/20 rule as one way to budget: How should I prioritize paying off my debts?.
- Kellogg Insight, January 8, 2014. Gal and McShane, Journal of Marketing Research 49 (2012). Nearly 6,000 debt-settlement clients. Closing accounts predicted finishing better than dollars paid. Start small if the rate gap is modest. The clients did not choose the order: To beat debt, consider starting small.
- Gal and McShane, the paper. Closing debt accounts predicted debt elimination regardless of the dollar balance closed. The dollar balance was not predictive once the fraction of accounts closed was included: Can Small Victories Help Win the War?.
- Take-home pay and a first month of spending, before you name the extra payment: how to make a budget.
- Whether this month's extra is safe to send after bills already due: how to calculate safe to spend.
- Assigning the debt payment as a job until income minus assignments equals zero: zero-based budgeting.
- A monthly set-aside for a bill that would otherwise become a new card balance: sinking funds.
- Monarch Pay down goals, updated October 19, 2026. Avalanche, snowball, and planned payments. Extra payments roll forward. The simulation does not change the budget until Save to Budget: Using Pay Down Goals.
- Monarch Core and Plus prices, the 7-day trial, and the payment method. Core $14.99 a month or $99.99 a year ($8.33 a month). Plus $199.99 a year ($16.67 a month). Savings and debt pay down goals are listed on Core and Plus: monarch.com/pricing.
- Monarch pricing help, updated March 3, 2026. Paid subscriptions only, in US dollars, plus tax where it applies: Pricing.
- Monarch price notes on this site: Monarch Money pricing.
- YNAB debt guide. Recommends the snowball. Describes the avalanche. The trial line on the guide is 34 days, with the Loan Planner named as the payoff tool: How to get out (and stay out) of debt.
- YNAB loan payoff simulator, updated September 28, 2026. Test a payment amount or a payoff date. See interest saved: Loan Planner and Payoff Simulator.
- YNAB prices. $14.99 a month, or $109 a year shown as $9.08 a month. A 34-day trial. No credit card when you sign up directly through YNAB. The pricing page also says an integrated loan calculator: ynab.com/pricing.
- YNAB and Monarch, when the method matters more than the monthly price: YNAB vs Monarch Money.
- EveryDollar plan page. Free plan you can keep. Premium is $17.99 a month, or $79.99 a year shown as $6.67 a month, after a 14-day trial for new users. Debt snowball, smallest to largest. Bank connect and a debt payoff tracker are Premium: EveryDollar.
- EveryDollar Baby Step 2, updated September 25, 2026. Smallest balance to largest, minimums on the rest, then roll the payment: Baby Step 2.
- EveryDollar and Monarch: EveryDollar vs Monarch Money.
- FYN pricing. Free does not expire and does not ask for a card. One household member on Free. Receipts 20 a month on Free and 200 on Pro. Apple Pay and Google Wallet purchases logged as you pay. Ask FYN. Pro is $9.99 a month, with unlimited household members. Bank sync is Pro only, up to 15 accounts: pricing.