Back to Blog
Guides12 min read

How to Track Daily Expenses

Tracking daily expenses is a record of the purchases that happen most days: gas, groceries, coffee, and the household errand on the way home. It is not yet a budget. The wider record, a full week plus subscriptions, is on how to track your spending. Writing the plan after the record is real is on how to make a budget. This page stays on the daily categories, what to write down, and why the totals drift.

The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, on June 5, 2019, calls logging your spending the heaviest step, and says that if a month feels like too much, start with one week. The same post says a daily log is how you catch the small purchases, such as breakfast or lunch you bought instead of bringing from home. A folder of receipts you look through at the end of the week is one way to keep that log current.

Checked . The gallon prices are from the Energy Information Administration update released October 27, 2026. The annual averages are from the Bureau of Labor Statistics news release of December 19, 2025. FYN limits are from the pricing page linked at the end. A fact a page does not state is marked Not documented.

Five ways to record a day

Pick one way and use it for the week. Switching halfway makes the total look cleaner without changing what you spent. The five below are the menu you can run without a finance app. The app, when you want one, is in the last section.

A notebook. One line per purchase, the same day: the date, the amount, one category, and cash or card. For gas, add the gallons and the price per gallon. For a grocery trip that also bought soap, add a second line or mark the split. Cash is the purchase a bank list will not have, and the notebook is where that line lives.

A spreadsheet. One row per purchase. Columns that are enough: date, merchant, amount, category, and cash or card. For gas, two more columns: gallons and price per gallon. Sum the amount column. Sum each category. The two sums match when every row has one category, and when a split receipt is two rows that add back to the store total. What a spreadsheet program costs on its own: Not documented here. Use a sheet you already have.

Bank categories. Open the posted transactions and accept the label the bank already applied, or change it, so gas stations sit in gas and grocery stores sit in groceries. A card purchase that posted is on that list. Cash you handed over is not, unless the only trace is an ATM withdrawal, which hides what the cash bought. A mixed grocery receipt stays one category until you split it. A second bank is a second login. The bank list is the record of that account. It is not a category total until you sort the lines.

Receipts. The card line is a date, a merchant, and an amount. The receipt is what you bought. Keep it when the category might be wrong, when the amount includes more than one kind of spending, or when you need the gallons. The weekly pass is when the receipt meets the account line. How to store the paper and the email, and how long to keep each kind, is on how to keep track of receipts. Photographing the slip versus typing the total is on receipt scanning vs manual tracking. This page does not repeat those filing rules.

Envelopes. Label one envelope for gas and one for groceries. Put cash in each at the start of the week or the month. When an envelope is empty, that category stops, or you move cash on purpose and write the move down. Card purchases never touch the envelope unless you also write them down. The longer versions are envelope budgeting and cash stuffing.

Gas and fuel

Capture the date, the station, the gallons, the price per gallon, the total, and whether you paid with cash or a card. The dollar total drifts for two different reasons. You bought more gallons, or a gallon cost more. A bank line can show only the first of those as a bigger charge. It cannot tell them apart.

The Energy Information Administration update released October 27, 2026 lists U.S. regular gasoline at $4.269 a gallon on October 26, 2026. That is 1.5 cents below the October 19 price of $4.284. The same week was not one price. The Gulf Coast was $3.702. The West Coast was $5.417. Ohio was $4.380 on October 26, up from $4.049 on October 19, which is 33.1 cents higher, while the national average moved the other way.

Ten gallons at those October 26 prices is three different fill-ups. Ten times $4.269 is $42.69. Ten times $3.702 is $37.02. Ten times $5.417 is $54.17. Same gallons, different dollars. If you only write $40, you cannot see which of those happened. The receipt is the line that keeps the gallons next to the price.

The Bureau of Labor Statistics, in the December 19, 2025 news release, lists average gasoline spending at $2,411 for a consumer unit in 2024. That is the year, across all consumer units. It is not a weekly budget, and it is not the price of the next gallon. Use it as a scale check: a year of fuel is large enough that a missing fill-up changes the month.

Groceries

Capture the store, the date, the total, and whether the trip included household supplies. One purchase gets one category until you split it. If you file the same store under groceries one week and under household the next, the weekly totals are not comparable.

The BLS release lists food at home at $6,224 for a consumer unit in 2024. Food at home is the published food line: groceries you bring home to eat. It is not the paper towels, the soap, or the light bulbs on the same receipt. Those items are a different kind of spending. Until you split them off, the grocery category absorbs them, and the food total looks higher than the food you actually carried to the kitchen.

The receipt is what lets you split. A bank category named groceries will usually follow the store, not the items. Write the split the day you shop, while you still remember which line was food. If you will not split, pick one category for that store and keep it, and say that the whole trip sits there.

Setting the grocery number from those trips, comparing unit prices, and seeing which items drive the bill is on how to save money on groceries.

Dining and coffee

Capture the merchant, the amount, and cash or card. Then keep coffee in one place. Either it lives with dining, or it has its own line. Moving a $5 coffee between those two labels does not change what left your hands. It does change which category looks high next week.

Coffee drifts because it is small and often cash. The June 5, 2019 CFPB post points at breakfast and lunch you buy instead of bringing from home. Those are the lines a checking account misses when you pay with cash. A card payment at the counter still posts later. The cash cup does not post at all.

The BLS release lists food away from home at $3,945 for a consumer unit in 2024. That line is restaurants, takeout, and the rest of the food prepared outside the home. A coffee is one purchase inside that kind of spending. It is not the whole $3,945. Five weekday coffees at $5 are $25. $5 times 5 is $25. If two of them were cash and you only open the card account, the week is short by $10.

Household errands and other daily spend

The fourth pile is the stop that is not gas, not the grocery run, and not the coffee: the pharmacy, the hardware aisle, postage, parking, and the household item you grabbed because you were already out. Capture what the errand was, not only the store name. A drugstore can be toothpaste, a snack, or both.

The same BLS release lists personal care products and services at $978 and miscellaneous spending at $1,218 for a consumer unit in 2024. Those are separate published lines. The release also says that only selected subcategories are shown, so they do not all add back to a parent total. Do not add $978 and $1,218 and call it your errand budget. Use them as a reminder that a drugstore trip and a hardware trip are allowed to be different categories. If you will not keep that many labels, pick one category called daily errands and put every one of these stops there, the same way, every week.

An example day

Example day only. These are round numbers chosen so the arithmetic is easy to check. They are not your tank, not a budget, and not the national gallon price. The $4.00 gallon below is a round example. The EIA prices are in the gas section.

Example day. Gas $40, grocery receipt $64 split into food $50 and household $14, cash coffee $5, pharmacy $12. Money that left is $121.
WhatPaidCategoryAmount
Gas, 10 gallons at $4.00CardGas$40
Grocery receiptCardSplit below$64
Food on that receiptCardGroceries$50
Paper towels and soapCardHousehold$14
CoffeeCashDining$5
Pharmacy, toothpasteCardDaily errands$12

The money that left is the gas, the grocery receipt, the coffee, and the pharmacy. $40 plus $64 is $104. $104 plus $12 is $116. The cash coffee is $5. $116 plus $5 is $121. The $50 and the $14 are the split of the $64, not two more charges. $50 plus $14 is $64.

Categories, after the split: gas $40, groceries $50, household $14, dining $5, daily errands $12. $40 plus $50 is $90. $90 plus $14 is $104. $104 plus $5 is $109. $109 plus $12 is $121. The categories match the day.

File the whole grocery receipt as groceries and household shows $0. Groceries show $64 instead of $50. They are $14 high. $64 minus $50 is $14. Skip the cash coffee and a card-only list shows $116. It is $5 short of the $121 that left. Skip the receipt and the gas line is $40 with no gallons, so you cannot tell a price change from a bigger fill.

When a simple method breaks

A missed receipt. The bank still shows the charge. You lose the split and the gallons. The $40 gas line does not say 10 gallons at $4.00. The $64 grocery line does not say $14 was household. Write the missing detail the same day, from memory if you have to, and mark it as memory so you do not treat it as the paper.

A shared card. One line, two people. The $12 pharmacy stop counts in your daily errands only when it was your purchase. If it was someone else, your own day is $109. $121 minus $12 is $109. Write whose purchase it was on the line. A household can share one record on purpose. That is a later section. The break here is a shared card with no note.

Cash. Cash never posts. An ATM withdrawal is one line for the amount you took out. It does not name the coffee. The envelope holds the cash you have not spent yet. It does not list the card charges. A notebook or a sheet that includes the $5 lists $121. A method that drops cash lists $116, and dining is $0 instead of $5.

How the methods compare

Effort and accuracy here are what each method leaves out. They are not a score. Cost is a price only where a page states one. FYN is last, and the section after the tools says what the pricing page actually lists.

Notebook, spreadsheet, bank categories, receipts, envelopes, and FYN, compared on effort, accuracy, cost, and who it is for. Checked October 29, 2026.
MethodEffortAccuracyCostBest for
NotebookYou write each purchase the same day.Only the lines you wrote, including cash and a split you marked.No subscription.A week you will finish with a pen.
SpreadsheetYou type each row, then sum by category.The rows in the sheet. Gallons are there if you added the column.No finance-app fee. The sheet's own price is not listed here.Adding gas, groceries, and coffee yourself.
Bank categoriesThe bank lists what posted to that account.That account only. Cash is missing. A mixed receipt stays one category.Comes with the account. Account fees are not listed here.Seeing what already cleared.
ReceiptsYou keep the slip and match it to the charge.The items and the gallons, if you still have the paper.No subscription. How long to keep each kind is on the receipts guide.Splitting a grocery trip and checking a fill-up.
EnvelopesYou stuff cash, then stop when an envelope is empty.The cash in that envelope. Card purchases are missing unless you write them down.The cash you put in. No app fee.A hard stop on gas or grocery cash.
FYNPhotograph a receipt, forward one, or a wallet purchase logs as you pay. Bank sync is Pro.Receipts and wallet purchases you saved. On Pro, up to 15 linked accounts.Free is $0. Pro is $9.99 a month. Bank sync is Pro only.Daily categories, then the bank feed on Pro.

Other apps, on spending, categories, and receipts, are in best expense tracker apps. This page does not rank them. The comparison here is the method, then FYN.

Advanced tools

A notebook holds the example day. It gets heavy when every fill-up, every coffee, and every grocery split is a line you copy by hand. These are the jobs a tool takes on. They are still the same record.

Bank sync. Posted charges from accounts you link land in one list. You still miss cash. You still see a store total rather than gallons or paper towels. A charge that has not posted yet is not in the feed. The weekly pass still has a job when a line did not arrive.

A receipt scan. A photo or an email forward turns the slip into merchant, amount, and, when the receipt has them, the line items. That is how the $64 trip becomes $50 of groceries and $14 of household without retyping both rows. The scan is only as good as the check you do against the paper total.

A question against the record. Once the lines are in one place, you can ask what you spent on gas this month, or on coffee this week, instead of re-adding the column. The answer is only the lines you saved. A missing cash coffee is still missing.

Subscriptions and agents. A daily coffee is not a subscription until the same merchant bills you again. The pass for repeating charges, including the lists at Apple, Google Play, and in email, is on how to find and cancel subscriptions. An agent is a read-only connection so another app can read a record you already keep. It does not create the gas line. You still need the receipt, the wallet purchase, or the bank charge in the record first.

Where FYN fits

FYN is our product, and it is last. Start free. The free plan is $0. It does not expire and does not ask for a card. You can track the example day from receipts and wallet purchases before you link a bank. The plan table is on pricing. The account is on register.

Receipt photos and emailed receipts are one monthly count, 20 a month on Free and 200 a month on Pro. Forwarding a receipt counts toward that same number. The pricing page says transactions are created from your receipts, and that receipt OCR and smart search are included on Free and on Pro. The US App Store listing, checked October 29, 2026, says a receipt photo extracts the merchant, the tax, the total, and the line items, then creates transactions. That is how the paper towels can sit next to the food on the $64 trip. You still file each line in one category. The $5 cash coffee is still a line you enter, unless a receipt photo captured it. A free account does not sync bank accounts.

Apple Pay and Google Wallet purchases are logged as you pay, on Free and on Pro. The pricing page calls that signal Taps. A card charge can still wait to post. A wallet purchase is in the record as you pay it. On the US App Store listing, checked October 29, 2026, version 1.2.26 says Apple Pay purchases show up before the bank posts them. You turn that on from Profile, Log purchases as you pay, on iOS 17 or later. Version 1.2.29 says one FYN shortcut logs Apple Pay taps and payment alerts. The same note calls that setup iOS 27. That shortcut is the payment alert tap. Version 1.2.28 names those payment alerts: Venmo, PayPal, Cash App, and banks such as Chase, Capital One, Amex, and Citi. Google Wallet is the pricing-page signal. The iOS version notes above describe Apple Pay and payment alerts. They do not use the words Google Wallet.

Version 1.2.31 on that same listing says a pump receipt keeps the gallons and the price per gallon, and that Prices tracks what you pay a gallon across stations. That is the gas line the bank total does not carry: the 10 gallons, not only the $40. The same version puts subscriptions, bills, and what changed in one scroll. Version 1.2.30 says Help me cancel shows a subscription's own cancel steps and link, then checks for a new charge after the next billing date. The coffee in the example is still a daily purchase. A merchant that repeats belongs on how to find and cancel subscriptions.

Pro is $9.99 a month. Bank sync is Pro only, through Plaid, for up to 15 accounts. That feed is how a posted charge with no receipt still shows up. The pricing page lists Home, an autopilot budget, and a spending map on Free and on Pro. Ask FYN is 20 questions a month on Free and 500 on Pro. AI-written insight cards are on Pro. They are not included on Free. A category named exactly like the example day: Not documented on the pricing page. You still choose gas, groceries, dining, and daily errands, and you keep each purchase in one of them.

Household sharing is available. The pricing FAQ asks whether you can invite family members or partners, and it answers yes. Free includes 1 household member. Pro includes unlimited household members. Everyone shares the plan limits. A shared member can be an owner, a member, or view-only. The household page is the longer description of those roles. A shared card with no note is still the break in the example. A household record is the place you write whose $12 it was.

Read-only agent calls, from ChatGPT, Claude, and other apps, are 500 a day on Free and 10,000 a day on Pro. They read the spending you saved. The agents page is the connection, and the MCP docs say a free account does not sync bank accounts, so tools that read bank data return little or no data until a bank is linked. Linking a bank is Pro. Start free, keep the receipts and the wallet purchases, and add Pro at $9.99 a month when you want the bank lines in the same record.

FAQ

What is the simplest way to track daily expenses?

Write each purchase the same day, with the date, the amount, one category, and whether you paid with cash or a card. The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau budgeting post, June 5, 2019, says that if a month feels like too much, start with one week, and that a daily log is how you catch small purchases such as breakfast or lunch. On this page the methods are a notebook, a spreadsheet, your bank categories, receipts, and cash envelopes. The example day uses round numbers so the arithmetic is easy to check. It is not a budget: gas $40, a grocery receipt of $64, coffee $5 in cash, and a pharmacy stop of $12. Those four add to $121.

How do you track gas or fuel?

Keep the gallons and the price per gallon, not only the dollar total. A bank line is the amount that posted. The receipt is what a gallon cost and how many you bought. In the example, 10 gallons at $4.00 is $40. The U.S. Energy Information Administration update released October 27, 2026 lists U.S. regular gasoline at $4.269 a gallon on October 26, 2026, which is 1.5 cents below the October 19 price of $4.284. The same table lists the Gulf Coast at $3.702 and the West Coast at $5.417. Ten gallons at those published prices is $42.69, $37.02, and $54.17. Ohio was $4.380 on October 26, up from $4.049 on October 19, which is 33.1 cents higher. The Bureau of Labor Statistics news release of December 19, 2025 lists average gasoline spending at $2,411 for a consumer unit in 2024. That figure is a year, not a weekly target.

How do you track groceries when the trip includes household items?

Split the receipt, or say which one category holds the whole trip. In the example the store total is $64, and $14 of it is paper towels and soap. Food on that receipt is $50. $50 plus $14 is $64. If you file the whole $64 as groceries, household supplies show $0 and groceries are $14 high. The BLS release lists food at home at $6,224 for a consumer unit in 2024. Food at home is the published food line. It is not the paper towels on the same receipt. How to store the paper, and how long to keep it, is on the receipts guide. This page uses the receipt as the split.

How do you track coffee and other small daily purchases?

Put coffee in the same category every time, either with dining or on its own line, and write it down the day you buy it. The example coffee is $5 in cash. The card lines that day add to $116, because $121 minus $5 is $116. A bank app that only shows the card is short by that $5. Five cash coffees at $5 would be $25 missing from a card list. $5 times 5 is $25. The June 5, 2019 CFPB post names breakfast and lunch as the small purchases a daily log is meant to catch. The BLS release lists food away from home at $3,945 for a consumer unit in 2024. Coffee is one purchase inside that kind of spending. It is not the whole line.

What breaks a notebook, a spreadsheet, or a bank category list?

A missed receipt, a shared card, or cash. The missed receipt leaves the bank total and hides the split: the $40 gas line does not say 10 gallons at $4.00, and the $64 grocery line does not say $14 was household. A shared card puts two people on one line. The $12 pharmacy stop counts as yours only when it was your purchase. Write whose it was. If it was someone else, your own day is $109, because $121 minus $12 is $109. Cash never posts. An ATM withdrawal is one line. It does not name the coffee. Envelopes stop you when that cash is gone, and they miss the card purchases unless you write those down too. Household sharing on FYN is available: the pricing page lists 1 household member on Free and unlimited household members on Pro.

What does FYN cost to track daily expenses, and can a household share it?

FYN is our product, and it is last. Start free. The free plan is $0. It does not expire and does not ask for a card. On fyn.fyi/pricing, checked October 29, 2026, Free includes 1 household member and Pro includes unlimited household members. The pricing FAQ says you can invite family members or partners. A shared member can be an owner, a member, or view-only. Everyone shares the plan limits. Receipt photos and emailed receipts are 20 a month on Free and 200 a month on Pro, one count. Apple Pay and Google Wallet purchases are logged as you pay, on Free and on Pro. The pricing page calls that signal Taps. On the US App Store listing checked the same day, version 1.2.26 logs Apple Pay purchases as you pay, before the bank posts them, from Profile on iOS 17 or later. Version 1.2.29 says one iOS shortcut logs Apple Pay taps and payment alerts. The note calls that setup iOS 27. That is the payment alert tap. Version 1.2.28 names payment alerts from Venmo, PayPal, Cash App, and banks such as Chase, Capital One, Amex, and Citi. Pro is $9.99 a month. Bank sync is Pro only, through Plaid, for up to 15 accounts. A free account does not sync bank accounts. Ask FYN is 20 questions a month on Free and 500 on Pro. Read-only agent calls are 500 a day on Free and 10,000 a day on Pro.

Sources

Checked . These are the pages behind the guide. A line marked Not documented is a fact the linked page does not state.

  • CFPB, June 5, 2019. Logging spending is the heavy step. A week is enough to start. A daily log catches small purchases such as breakfast or lunch. Review a folder of receipts at the end of each week: Budgeting: How to create a budget and stick with it.
  • U.S. Energy Information Administration, Gasoline and Diesel Fuel Update, released October 27, 2026. U.S. regular gasoline $4.269 a gallon on October 26, 2026, down from $4.284 on October 19. Gulf Coast $3.702. West Coast $5.417. Ohio $4.380 on October 26, up from $4.049 on October 19: Gasoline and Diesel Fuel Update.
  • Bureau of Labor Statistics, Consumer Expenditures news release, December 19, 2025 (USDL-25-1586). For a consumer unit in 2024: gasoline $2,411, food at home $6,224, food away from home $3,945, personal care products and services $978, miscellaneous $1,218. Selected subcategories do not all sum to the parent: Consumer Expenditures 2024.
  • The wider spending record, including a full example week: how to track your spending.
  • What to keep, how long, and a weekly receipt routine: how to keep track of receipts.
  • Photographing a receipt versus typing the total: receipt scanning vs manual tracking.
  • Expense tracker apps compared on spending, categories, receipts, and price: best expense tracker apps.
  • Cash in labeled envelopes: envelope budgeting and cash stuffing.
  • Repeating merchants, then the cancel steps: how to find and cancel subscriptions.
  • Each planned category next to what you spent: budget vs actuals.
  • FYN pricing, checked October 29, 2026. Free is $0 and does not ask for a card. Receipts are 20 a month on Free and 200 a month on Pro. Apple Pay and Google Wallet purchases are logged as you pay, on Free and on Pro. Pro is $9.99 a month. Bank sync is Pro only, via Plaid, up to 15 accounts. Ask FYN is 20 questions a month on Free and 500 on Pro. Read-only agent calls are 500 a day on Free and 10,000 a day on Pro. Household members: 1 on Free, unlimited on Pro. Home, an autopilot budget, and a spending map are on Free and on Pro: pricing.
  • FYN on the US App Store, checked October 29, 2026. Version 1.2.26 logs Apple Pay purchases as you pay, before the bank posts them. Version 1.2.28 names payment alerts from Venmo, PayPal, Cash App, and banks such as Chase, Capital One, Amex, and Citi. Version 1.2.29 logs Apple Pay taps and payment alerts from one iOS shortcut. The note calls that setup iOS 27. Version 1.2.30 shows a subscription's own cancel steps. Version 1.2.31 keeps gallons and price per gallon on a pump receipt: FYN on the App Store.
  • FYN household roles. An owner, a member, or view-only: household.
  • Read-only agent access: agents and MCP docs.

Take control of your money

AI-powered budgeting, receipt scanning, and proactive spending alerts. Free to start.

Get Started for Free