Back to Blog
Guides12 min read

How to Save Money on Groceries

How to save money on groceries is a budget taken from the trips you already made, then a look at the items inside those receipts. How to cut a grocery bill starts there. A grocery budget copied from a round number you like will not tell you whether snacks, meat, or paper towels are the reason the cart was high. The store, the date, and the one total, including the supplies that rode along, are on how to track daily expenses. Keeping the paper itself is on how to keep track of receipts.

The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, on June 5, 2019, calls logging your spending the heaviest step. The same post says a daily log catches the small purchases, such as breakfast or lunch you bought instead of bringing from home. A grocery list is that idea for the cart: decide the meals before you are in the aisle, then let the receipt show what you added anyway.

Checked . The dollars below are an example household. They are not your city, your household size, or a required cap. A fact a page does not state is marked Not documented.

The plan

Do the seven steps in order. Skipping the past trips and jumping to a challenge is how the challenge fails on the second shop.

1. Set a grocery budget from real past spend. Add the grocery trips from the last two or three months. Divide by the number of months. That average is the starting cap. In the example, the three months are $510, $450, and $480. Those add to $1,440. $1,440 divided by 3 is $480. Four weeks at $120 is also $480, so the weekly pace is $120. A month that was a holiday, a party, or a stock-up can sit in the average. If one month is the party, use the other two, and say so. The cap is what you write before the next shop. It is not the highest month, and it is not a number from a headline. Gas, coffee, and the rest of the day stay on the daily log. This cap is groceries.

2. Meal planning. Write the dinners, and the lunches you will actually pack, before you leave. Four dinners that use the chicken and the beef already on the list are a plan. A list written in the parking lot is a memory of the aisle. The June 5, 2019 post points at breakfast and lunch you buy because the food was not ready at home. The grocery version is the same: the meal you named is the one the cart is for. Leftovers count as a meal. A plan that ignores them buys the same dinner twice.

3. Unit prices. The shelf price is the sticker. The unit price is the sticker divided by the amount on the label: ounces, pounds, or count. In a shelf example that is not part of the $480, one cereal is $4.80 for 12 ounces. $4.80 divided by 12 is $0.40 an ounce. The larger box is $6.30 for 18 ounces. $6.30 divided by 18 is $0.35 an ounce. The larger box costs $1.50 more at the shelf. $6.30 minus $4.80 is $1.50. It is still the cheaper food per ounce. Compare the same unit. A price per ounce against a price per pound is not a comparison. If the label already prints a unit price, read that line, and still check the unit it used.

4. Store brands. When the item is the same kind of thing, the store brand is the first swap, not the last resort. In another shelf example, pasta is $2 a box for the name and $1 a box for the store brand. Four boxes are $8 or $4. $2 times 4 is $8. $1 times 4 is $4. The $4 stays in the account. Taste is allowed to win on the one item you notice. It does not have to win on the salt, the beans, and the pasta in the same trip. The $4 and the $8 are not inside the $480. They show the swap. They are not a second budget.

5. List discipline. The list is the meals plus the staples you are out of. Anything else waits, or it gets written on the receipt as an add. In the example, one $86 trip includes $18 of snacks that were not on the list. That $18 is the leak for that shop. It is also inside the month's snack total, not an extra $18 piled on top. A rule you invent at the register is not a list. The list was the rule.

6. Track item-level spend from the receipts. The card line is the store total. The receipt is the items. Keep the lines: what you bought, what it cost, and whether it was food or a household supply. Across the example month, meat is $96, snacks are $72, produce is $64, dairy is $48, household supplies on the same receipts are $60, and other food is $140. Those six add to $480. The lines that drive the bill are the ones you would not have guessed from the store name. Snacks at $72 are more than produce at $64. Household supplies at $60 are not food. A method for the photo versus typing the total by hand is on receipt scanning versus manual tracking.

7. Check the bank-category grocery total once a month. At the end of the month, read the grocery category on the account you actually paid with. In the example that total is $480. Then put the receipt split next to it: $420 of food and $60 of supplies. $480 minus $60 is $420. If you only keep the $480, next month's cap is aimed at a number that includes paper towels. The food number is $420. The snack cap is a cut inside that food number, from $72 to $40, which is $32. Food then aims at $388. $420 minus $32 is $388. If the supplies stay on the same receipts, the card will still show about $448. $388 plus $60 is $448. The category check is what keeps those two stories from pretending to be one number. A full month of income, rent, and the other categories is a different job. The steps for that budget are on how to make a budget.

A worked example

Example household only. Three earlier months of grocery trips: $510, $450, and $480. The average is $480, and that is the cap. The month below is also $480, so the cap matches what happened. The cuts are for the next month. They are not a claim that this month already came in lower.

Example grocery month. Meat $96, snacks $72, produce $64, dairy $48, household supplies $60, and other food $140 add to $480.
What the receipts showAmount
Meat$96
Snacks$72
Produce$64
Dairy$48
Household supplies on the grocery receipts$60
Other food$140
Grocery charges$480

Food is $420. $96 plus $72 plus $64 plus $48 plus $140 is $420. Supplies are $60. $420 plus $60 is $480. The four trips that add to the same $480 are $128, $96, $142, and $114. $128 plus $96 is $224. $224 plus $142 is $366. $366 plus $114 is $480.

One of those trips is $86. The lines are chicken $16, produce $14, milk and eggs $8, snacks $18, paper towels $12, soap $8, and bread and pasta $10. $16 plus $14 plus $8 plus $18 plus $12 plus $8 plus $10 is $86. Household on this receipt is $20. $12 plus $8 is $20. Food on this receipt is $66. $86 minus $20 is $66. The $18 of snacks was not on the list. That $18 is part of the month's $72, not a new pile.

Example $86 receipt. Food lines add to $66. Paper towels $12 and soap $8 add to $20. The receipt is $86.
LineKindAmount
ChickenFood$16
ProduceFood$14
Milk and eggsFood$8
Snacks, not on the listFood$18
Bread and pastaFood$10
Paper towelsHousehold$12
SoapHousehold$8
ReceiptFood $66, household $20$86

The next month uses the same $480 history and changes two things. Snacks go from $72 to a $40 cap. That is $32 less, so food aims at $388. Supplies stay $60 if they stay on the grocery receipts, and the card then shows about $448. Moving the $60 to a household category does not make the paper towels free. It stops them from pretending to be food.

Common mistakes

Using a number you like. $400 feels tidy. If the trips were $480, the tidy number is a wish. Start from the trips, then cut a line you can name.

Treating the store total as the food total. $480 at the grocery store included $60 of supplies. The food was $420. A budget aimed at $480 of food is a budget aimed at the wrong pile.

Comparing stickers instead of units. The $6.30 box looks worse than the $4.80 box until you divide. $0.35 an ounce is less than $0.40 an ounce. The sticker is not the price of the food.

Raising the cap to match a high week. A $142 trip against a $120 week is $22 over. Moving the week to $142 makes the overspend the plan. The next week keeps $120.

Skipping the monthly category check. The receipt work is wasted if the number you remember is only the card total. Once a month, put the category next to the split. That is the check.

Tools

The arithmetic above fits on the receipts and a single page. A tool is for the month you do not want to re-add the lines. Monarch Money is the default comparison. FYN is last, and it is our product.

Tools for a grocery budget and item lines. Monarch Money is the default comparison. FYN is the last row.
ToolWhat it holds for this planPrice
Notebook and the receiptsThe trips, the item lines, the unit-price notes, and the monthly split.No app fee. Use paper you already have.
Monarch MoneyA Groceries category on the transactions a linked account brings in. Planned, Actual, and Remaining. Receipt line items when the receipt has them.No free plan. Core is $14.99 a month or $99.99 a year. Plus is $199.99 a year. A 7-day trial requires a payment method.
FYNReceipt line items matched to the transaction. Apple Pay and a payment alert tap on iOS. A grocery budget. Household sharing.Free is $0. Pro is $9.99 a month. Bank sync is Pro only.

Monarch Money

Monarch Money is the default app if you want grocery trips categorized from the accounts you connect, with a budget on top of those charges. Pen and paper holds the same receipts. Monarch is the product in this comparison that imports the card lines and still lets you type a grocery amount.

The default categories article, updated September 29, 2026, lists Groceries under Food and Dining, next to Restaurants and Bars and Coffee Shops. Monarch attempts to categorize transactions, and you can correct one by hand or with a rule. The system categories use machine learning to recognize merchants. A grocery store the system recognizes lands in Groceries. That is the store. It is not a line for snacks, meat, or paper towels. The budget article, updated October 22, 2026, says the first step is connected accounts and accurate categories, and that Monarch categorizes transactions as you spend, with restaurants as one of its examples, so you can plan an amount per category. Category budgeting assigns every expense category an amount, which is where a grocery cap can sit. Flex budgeting is the default: one flexible spending number for the categories that vary. With flex budgeting, you move money to or from the flexible spending bucket as a whole, not a single category inside it. The first visit fills amounts from the average of the last six months. That average is history. In the example, grocery history is $480. You type the cap if $480 is the plan, or a lower number if the snack cut is the plan. On the web, the budget shows Planned, Actual, and Remaining. Left to budget is planned income minus planned expenses for the month. Actual on Groceries is the categorized charges. In the example, Actual is $480 until you split the supplies off.

The splitting article, updated October 20, 2026, uses a charge that includes both groceries and household items as the case for a split. Each part becomes its own transaction, so the budget can show food and supplies apart. You still decide the amounts. The receipt article, updated October 28, 2026, is the other path. You scan, upload, or forward a receipt. It reads merchant, amount, and date, and line items when the receipt has them. A single receipt may be split into more than one transaction by category, and the article's example is Groceries and Household. When a receipt matches a transaction, Monarch keeps the transaction amount and attaches the receipt. Matching uses amount, date, and merchant, and it matches posted transactions. A month-long ranking of which products add up inside Groceries, such as snacks versus meat: Not documented on the pages checked for this guide. A price per ounce on the shelf: Not documented.

Price, read on monarch.com/pricing on October 29, 2026. There is no free plan. The page describes a subscription rather than a free app. Core is $14.99 a month, or $8.33 a month when billed $99.99 a year. Plus is $16.67 a month, billed $199.99 a year. Both plan cards say a free 7-day trial, then that price, and that a payment method is required. Cancel in settings before the trial ends. A month-to-month Plus price was not on the page. Not documented. Those receipts and the grocery category sit inside the paid subscription once the trial ends. Trial length and discounts are on Monarch Money pricing. Other apps people look at instead are the Monarch Money alternatives.

Where FYN fits

FYN is our product, and it is last. Start free. The free plan is $0. It does not expire and does not ask for a card. You can keep the grocery record from receipts and wallet purchases before you link a bank. The plan table is on pricing. The account is on register.

Receipt photos and emailed receipts are one monthly count, 20 a month on Free and 200 a month on Pro. The pricing page says transactions are created from your receipts, and that receipt OCR and smart search are included on Free and on Pro. The receipt scanning page says each receipt keeps the merchant, the date, the total, and every line item. That is the $86 trip: chicken, snacks, paper towels, and soap as lines, not one grocery blob. You still file household supplies in a household category when you want the food total to stay food. A free account does not sync bank accounts.

On Pro, receipts automatically link to the bank charge, receipt and charge side by side. The line items sit with the transaction the store posted. Bank sync is Pro only, through Plaid, for up to 15 accounts. That feed is how a posted grocery charge with no photo still shows up. The match is the Pro path, because the bank connection is Pro. The photo and the lines are how the free record starts.

Apple Pay and Google Wallet purchases are logged as you pay, on Free and on Pro. The pricing page calls that signal Taps. A card charge can still wait to post. A wallet purchase is in the record as you pay it, which is the grocery stop you would otherwise reconstruct from memory. On the US App Store listing, checked October 29, 2026, version 1.2.26 says Apple Pay purchases show up seconds after you pay, before the bank posts them. You turn that on from Profile, Log purchases as you pay, on iOS 17 or later. Version 1.2.28 says iOS 27 adds a ready-made shortcut for Apple Pay purchases, and that FYN can log payment alerts from Venmo, PayPal, Cash App, and banks such as Chase, Capital One, Amex, and Citi. Version 1.2.29 says one shortcut logs Apple Pay taps and payment alerts. The note calls that setup iOS 27. You add it, switch it on, and pick the bank app. That shortcut is the payment alert tap. Google Wallet is the pricing-page signal. The iOS notes above describe Apple Pay and payment alerts. They do not use the words Google Wallet.

When a budget is set, the budget screen can show what is left to spend in the calendar month after bills still due, and about how much that is per day for the days left in the month. A grocery cap lives in that budget with the other categories. The $120 week in the example is your pace. The screen's per-day figure runs to the end of the month. Ask FYN is plain-English questions about the spending you saved: what groceries were this month, or which items were on the receipts. It is 20 questions a month on Free and 500 on Pro. The answer is the lines in the record. A receipt you never captured is still missing. Price history across stores is on Pro. The pricing page lists it with trip tools and data export.

Household sharing is available. Free includes 1 household member. Pro includes unlimited household members. Everyone shares the plan limits, so the receipt count is the household's count. A shared member can be an owner, a member, or view-only. The person who shops and the person who wants the grocery total can use the same record. The household page covers those roles. Pro is $9.99 a month. Start free, keep the receipts and the taps, and add Pro when you want the bank lines in that same record.

FAQ

How do you save money on groceries?

Start with the trips you already made, then change the items that drove them. In the example on this page, three months of grocery trips were $510, $450, and $480. Those add to $1,440, and $1,440 divided by 3 is $480. That $480 is the grocery budget, or $120 a week. The same month of receipts is $420 of food and $60 of household supplies. Inside the food, snacks are $72. The next month keeps the $480 history and caps snacks at $40, which is $32 less. Food then aims at $388. $420 minus $32 is $388. If the paper towels stay on the same receipts, the card still shows about $448. $388 plus $60 is $448. The dollars are an example household, not a national grocery bill.

How do you set a grocery budget?

Add the grocery trips from the last two or three months, divide by the number of months, and use that average as the starting cap. In the example, $510 plus $450 plus $480 is $1,440, and the average is $480. Four weeks at $120 is also $480. A round number you like, with no trips behind it, is a guess. The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, on June 5, 2019, calls logging spending the heavy step, and a daily log is how small food purchases show up. Write the cap down before the next shop. If a week goes over, the next week keeps the same cap.

How do you cut a grocery bill?

Plan the meals, shop from a list, compare the price per unit, and swap the store brand where the product is the same kind of item. Then read the receipt. In the example, one $86 trip has $18 of snacks that were not on the list, and $20 of paper towels and soap. $12 plus $8 is $20. The food on that receipt is $66. $86 minus $20 is $66. Cutting the bill means those lines, not a smaller feeling at the register. A shelf example, separate from the $86: cereal at $4.80 for 12 ounces is $0.40 an ounce, and $6.30 for 18 ounces is $0.35 an ounce. The larger box costs $1.50 more on the shelf and less per ounce. Pasta at $2 a box versus $1, four boxes, is $8 versus $4.

Why does the grocery category look higher than the food?

A card charge is the store, not the items. In the example the month of grocery charges is $480. The receipts say $60 of that was household supplies, so the food was $420. Until you split the paper towels and the soap off, the grocery category absorbs them. Write the split the day you shop. If you will not split, keep one category for that store and say the whole trip sits there.

Does Monarch Money show which grocery items cost the most?

Monarch Money is the mainstream app in this comparison. It does not have a free plan. Core is $14.99 a month, or $8.33 a month when billed $99.99 a year. Plus is $16.67 a month, billed $199.99 a year. Both plan cards say a free 7-day trial, and a payment method is required. Groceries is a default category under Food and Dining. The budget article, updated October 22, 2026, says Monarch categorizes transactions as you spend, and category budgeting is where a grocery amount can sit. Flex budgeting is the default: one flexible spending number. On the web, the budget shows Planned, Actual, and Remaining. The receipt article, updated October 28, 2026, reads merchant, amount, and date, and line items when the receipt has them. A receipt may be split into Groceries and Household. A month-long ranking of which products, such as snacks or meat, add up inside Groceries: Not documented on the pages checked for this guide. A price per ounce on the shelf: Not documented.

What does FYN show on a grocery receipt, and what does it cost?

FYN is our product, and it is last. Start free. The free plan is $0. It does not expire and does not ask for a card. It includes 1 household member. Pro includes unlimited household members. A shared member can be an owner, a member, or view-only. Receipt photos and emailed receipts are 20 a month on Free and 200 a month on Pro, one count. Each receipt keeps the merchant, the date, the total, and the line items. On Pro, a receipt auto-matches the bank charge, so the line items sit with that transaction. Apple Pay and Google Wallet purchases are logged as you pay, on Free and on Pro. On the US App Store listing checked October 29, 2026, a payment alert tap on iOS can log Apple Pay taps and payment alerts. When a budget is set, the budget screen can show what is left to spend in the calendar month after bills still due. Ask FYN is 20 questions a month on Free and 500 on Pro. Pro is $9.99 a month. Bank sync is Pro only, through Plaid, for up to 15 accounts. A free account does not sync bank accounts.

Sources

Checked . These are the pages behind the guide. A line marked Not documented is a fact the linked page does not state.

  • CFPB, June 5, 2019. Logging spending is the heavy step. A daily log catches small purchases such as breakfast or lunch you bought instead of bringing from home: Budgeting: How to create a budget and stick with it.
  • The store, the date, the total, and a split between food and household supplies: how to track daily expenses.
  • Keeping the paper receipt: how to keep track of receipts.
  • A photo of the receipt versus typing the store total: receipt scanning versus manual tracking.
  • A full month of income and the other categories: how to make a budget.
  • Other apps people compare with Monarch: Monarch Money alternatives.
  • Monarch Core and Plus prices, the 7-day trial, and the payment method. Core $14.99 a month or $99.99 a year ($8.33 a month). Plus $199.99 a year ($16.67 a month). No free plan: monarch.com/pricing.
  • Creating your budget in Monarch, updated October 22, 2026. Connected accounts and categories come first. Monarch categorizes transactions as you spend. Flex is the default. Planned, Actual, and Remaining. The first visit uses the average of the last six months: Creating your budget.
  • Default categories, updated September 29, 2026. Groceries sits under Food and Dining. Monarch attempts to categorize transactions. System categories use machine learning to recognize merchants: Default categories.
  • Splitting transactions, updated October 20, 2026. One charge that includes groceries and household items can be split so each part has its own category: Splitting transactions.
  • Importing receipts into Monarch, updated October 28, 2026. Scan, upload, or forward. Merchant, amount, date, and line items when the receipt has them. A receipt may be split into Groceries and Household. Amounts on a matched transaction are not overwritten: Importing receipts.
  • Trial length, annual price, and discounts: Monarch Money pricing.
  • FYN pricing, checked October 29, 2026. Free is $0 and does not ask for a card. Receipts are 20 a month on Free and 200 a month on Pro. Apple Pay and Google Wallet purchases are logged as you pay, on Free and on Pro. Pro is $9.99 a month. Bank sync is Pro only, via Plaid, up to 15 accounts. Ask FYN is 20 questions a month on Free and 500 on Pro. Household members: 1 on Free, unlimited on Pro. Price history across stores is on Pro. Home, an autopilot budget, and a spending map are on Free and on Pro: pricing.
  • FYN receipt scanning. Line items stay on the receipt. On Pro, the receipt auto-matches the bank charge: receipt scanning.
  • FYN on the US App Store, checked October 29, 2026. Version 1.2.26 logs Apple Pay purchases as you pay, before the bank posts them. Version 1.2.28 names payment alerts from Venmo, PayPal, Cash App, and banks such as Chase, Capital One, Amex, and Citi. Version 1.2.29 logs Apple Pay taps and payment alerts from one iOS shortcut. The note calls that setup iOS 27: FYN on the App Store.
  • FYN household roles. An owner, a member, or view-only: household.

Take control of your money

AI-powered budgeting, receipt scanning, and proactive spending alerts. Free to start.

Get Started for Free