Best Budget Apps for Android in 2026
Android features, Play Store prices, and Play Store ratings checked against each company's site, help center, or US Play listing on . A cell says Not documented when those pages did not state the fact. This is not a ranking.
A search for the best budget app for Android is a different job from a search for the best budget app. The wider comparison, including bank sync, budget style, and who each app is for, is best budget apps in 2026. What a free plan includes is best free budget apps. Shared logins are best budget apps for couples. The iPhone questions, including Face ID and Apple Card, are best budget apps for iPhone. This page stays on the Android questions: the native app, widgets and Material You, a biometric lock, Google Wallet, offline use, the bank-sync model, what the free tier actually includes, the price in the Play Store, and the rating on that listing. Monarch Money is the first row because it is the app most of these searches compare against. The other rows follow that, and they are not ordered by score. FYN, our product, is last.
Copilot Money is not in the table. Its FAQ lists iPhone, iPad, Mac, and the web. Android is not on that list. The Apple comparison is Copilot Money vs Monarch Money, and the iPhone roundup is the page for that app.
If the question is whether Monarch is worth paying for at all, use is Monarch Money worth it. If the question is what else exists, use Monarch Money alternatives. The envelope version is YNAB vs Monarch Money.
The comparison
Eight apps that still ship on Google Play, checked . The date on the table is Checked Oct 28, 2026. Monarch Money is the first row. FYN, our product, is last. Ratings are the figures the US Play listing displayed that day, with the review count beside them. FYN's listing did not display a rating.
| App | Android app | Widgets / Material You | Biometric lock | Google Wallet | Offline | Bank sync | Free tier | Play Store price | Play Store rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Monarch Money | US Play listing. Updated Oct 28, 2026. 500K+ downloads. | Widgets: budget, transactions, investments, and a receipt shortcut. Material You: Not documented. | Not documented. | Not documented. | Not documented. | On the paid plan. Plaid, MX, and Finicity. No free plan. | No free plan. The listing says a 7-day trial. | Free to install. Listing: $14.99 to $199.99 per item. Web: Core $14.99/mo or $99.99/yr. Plus $199.99/yr. | 4.8 from 26.2K reviews. |
| YNAB | US Play listing. Updated Oct 27, 2026. 1M+ downloads. | Yes, on Android 7 or newer. Categories, plus Add Transaction from the icon. Material You: Not documented. | Yes. Fingerprint, passcode, or pattern. App Lock in the app. | Not documented. | Keeps a local copy. Offline too long, and YNAB replaces it with the server plan. | Direct import. The listing says YNAB is an agent of Plaid. No free plan after the trial. | No free plan. The listing describes a 34-day trial. | Free to install. Listing: $14.99 to $109.00 per item. Site: $14.99/mo or $109/yr. | 4.6 from 25.4K reviews. |
| Goodbudget | US Play listing. Updated Aug 6, 2026. 1M+ downloads. | Listing and help still describe a widget. A staff reply on Feb 25, 2026 says they are phasing the Android widget out. Material You: Not documented. | Not documented. | Not documented. | Not documented. | Premium, US banks, connected on the website. The free plan is manual. | Free forever: 10 regular and 10 annual envelopes, 1 account, 2 devices, 1 year of history. | Free to install. Listing: $0.99 to $69.99 per item. Plus $8/mo or $70/yr. Premium $10/mo or $80/yr. | 3.2 from 19.2K reviews. |
| Rocket Money | US Play listing. Updated Oct 23, 2026. 10M+ downloads. | Not on Android. The widget article is iOS only. Material You: Not documented. | Yes. Face ID, Touch ID, or a PIN on Android. | Not documented. | Not documented. | The listing says you link accounts. Real-time sync is Premium. Free members can still check linked institutions on the site. | A free plan. Budgets are Premium on the help article read this day. A January article still describes limited free category budgets. | Free to install. Listing: $0.99 to $59.99 per item. Premium is a price you choose. Premium+ is $15/mo plus tax. | 4.5 from 141K reviews. |
| EveryDollar | US Play listing. Updated Oct 28, 2026. 1M+ downloads. The mobile app is US-only. | Not documented. | Not documented. | Not documented. | Not documented. | Premium only. Plaid or Mastercard Connect. The free plan is manual. | The free plan lasts as long as you want. Manual entry. New users get a 14-day Premium trial. | Free to install. Listing: $7.99 to $129.99 per item. Premium $17.99/mo or $79.99/yr. | 4.3 from 15.5K reviews. |
| PocketGuard | US Play listing. Updated Oct 28, 2026. 100K+ downloads. | The widget post is for iPhone. Android widgets: Not documented. Material You: Not documented. | The listing says biometric login and a PIN. | Not documented. | Not documented. The listing says you can add transactions by hand without a bank. | Plus help lists unlimited bank accounts. The listing names Plaid, Finicity, and Salt Edge, and says a bank is optional. | The listing says core features are free. The pricing page leads with a 7-day trial and does not show a free-plan card. | Free to install. Listing description: Plus $12.99/mo or $74.99/yr after a 7-day trial. Listing range: $0.99 to $149.99 per item. | 4.4 from 2.89K reviews. |
| Quicken Simplifi | US Play listing, Quicken Simplifi: Budget Smart. Updated Oct 27, 2026. 500K+ downloads. | Yes on Android. Available to Spend is iOS only. Material You: Not documented. | Not documented. | Not documented. | An internet connection is required to open the account. An offline mode: Not documented. | The product is built on connected accounts. No free plan. | No free plan. | Free to install. Listing: $9.99 to $109.99 per item. Product page: $3.99, then $6.99/mo, billed annually. | 4.6 from 5.09K reviews. |
| FYN (our product) | US Play listing. Updated Oct 28, 2026. The listing showed 0+ downloads. | Not documented. | Not documented. | Logs Google Wallet purchases as you pay. On the pricing page, Free and Pro. | Not documented. | Pro only, via Plaid, up to 15 accounts. A free account does not sync a bank. | Free plan, no card. 20 receipt scans a month on the listing. 1 household member. Pro is unlimited. | Free to install. Pro is $9.99/mo. Bank sync is Pro only. | The listing did not display a star rating or a review count. |
On a phone, scroll the table sideways. The first column stays put. Play Store price is the in-app purchase range on the US listing, plus the plan prices on the company's own site when the two pages disagree.
How to read the Android columns
We read each company's pricing page, help center, or US Play listing and filled the cells from those pages on October 28, 2026. We did not open a paid account at every competitor, and we did not treat another roundup as a source. A blank we could not confirm is labeled Not documented.
Two Google columns get mixed up, and they are not the same feature. Importing a Google Wallet account would pull that wallet into the budget. Logging a Google Wallet purchase is a different pipe: the app records the payment as you pay. A charge you make with Google Wallet on some other card can still show up later, once a linked bank or card posts it. That bank feed is not a Google Wallet connection, and it is not the same as logging the purchase. Material You was not stated on the pages we read for any row, so that half of the widget column is Not documented throughout.
The rating column is only what the US listing showed on October 28, 2026. A 4.8 from 26.2K reviews and a listing that did not display a rating are not the same kind of number. Both are on the table.
Monarch Money
Start here if you want the dashboard people already compare the others with, on Android. The US listing was updated Oct 28, 2026. It showed 4.8 from 26.2K reviews and 500K+ downloads. It is free to install, and the description says Monarch is free to try for 7 days. The in-app purchase line on that page is $14.99 to $199.99 per item. It does not name Core or Plus. The pricing FAQ lists a monthly subscription at $14.99 and a yearly subscription at $99.99, and it recommends signing up on the web rather than in the Apple store or the Google Play store. Plus is $199.99 a year on that pricing page, shown as $16.67 a month. There is no free plan after the trial.
Widgets are documented for Android. The help article, updated October 20, 2026, covers a budget widget, a transactions widget, an investments widget, and a receipts widget that opens receipt import from the home screen. You add them by touching and holding an empty area, then Widgets. Material You: Not documented. A biometric lock inside Monarch: Not documented. The security articles we read cover a password, Continue with Google, Continue with Apple, and multi-factor authentication. Offline use: Not documented.
Bank sync is the paid product. The data-provider article names Plaid, MX, and Finicity. The Play listing says you connect accounts, and that adding a partner or other household members costs nothing extra. The official connector is back too. The blog post dated October 21, 2026 says the MCP connector returned after a pause. The help article, updated October 22, 2026, says it is on Core and Plus, for Claude, ChatGPT on a paid web plan, Cursor, and Gemini CLI. It is read-only unless you allow write. Accounts connected through Finicity are left out. You do not share your Monarch password with the tool. The Play update from October 28, 2026 says Settings shows the MCP Connector and weekly usage. For the longer look at price, use Monarch Money pricing and is Monarch Money worth it.
YNAB
Pick YNAB when the method is the reason you open the phone. The US listing was updated Oct 27, 2026. It showed 4.6 from 25.4K reviews and 1M+ downloads. It is free to install. The description says a 34-day trial, then a subscription billed monthly or annually. The in-app purchase line is $14.99 to $109.00 per item, the same prices as ynab.com/pricing. The site trial is 34 days. There is no free plan after that trial.
Widgets on Android need Android 7 or newer. The guide offers a small widget for one category and a large widget for a list, and an Add Transaction shortcut if you press and hold the app icon. The lock is documented too. The help article, updated July 2, 2026, says Android can use a fingerprint, a passcode, or a pattern. You turn App Lock on from Home, the three dots, then Settings & Privacy. Opening YNAB asks for it, with a five-minute grace period when you switch away and come back. Logging out turns the lock off until you enable it again. Turning it on also blocks screenshots until you turn it off.
Google Wallet: Not documented. Offline use is narrower than a full offline mode. The troubleshooting guide says the phone keeps a local copy, and that a device offline too long does not upload that copy. YNAB clears the local data and loads the current plan from the server. Bank sync is direct import. The Play listing says YNAB is an agent of Plaid Financial Ltd. The longer envelope comparison is YNAB vs Monarch Money, and the wider list is YNAB alternatives.
Goodbudget
Pick Goodbudget when you want envelopes you can start without a paid plan, and you will type the spending. The US listing was updated Aug 6, 2026. It showed 3.2 from 19.2K reviews and 1M+ downloads. It is free to install. The description says the free version includes 10 regular envelopes and 10 annual envelopes. Subscribers get unlimited envelopes and accounts, sharing with up to 5 devices, 7 years of history, and a bank connection you set up on the website. The in-app purchase line is $0.99 to $69.99 per item. That range does not name the plans.
The subscribe page lists three plans. Free is 10 regular envelopes, 10 more envelopes, 1 account, 2 devices, and 1 year of history. Plus is $8 a month or $70 a year. Premium is $10 a month or $80 a year. The page leads with automatic bank sync for US banks. A Goodbudget post from August 2024 says that bank connection is the Premium plan, and that Plus does not include it. The free plan stays manual. Offline use: Not documented. The listing says the budget is backed up to the website.
The listing still advertises a location-based widget, and the Android help still describes a Quick Transactions widget. A staff reply on February 25, 2026 says they are phasing that Android widget out because it is not compatible with newer Google Play requirements. Material You: Not documented. A biometric lock: Not documented. Google Wallet: Not documented. The side-by-side with FYN is FYN vs Goodbudget.
Rocket Money
Pick Rocket Money when the Android job is subscriptions, bills, and a budget you can open without paying first. The US listing was updated Oct 23, 2026. It showed 4.5 from 141K reviews and 10M+ downloads. It is free to install. The in-app purchase line is $0.99 to $59.99 per item. The listing does not name Premium or Premium+ inside that range. The cost article, read on October 28, 2026, says Premium is a price you choose and that those prices can vary by platform. Premium+ is $15 a month plus tax on that article.
Widgets are not on Android. The article, dated September 22, 2026, says widgets need an iPhone on iOS 14 or later, an active Premium membership, and that they are not currently available on Android devices. The biometric article from the same day covers Android: set a PIN under the phone's lock screen, then turn biometrics on in Rocket Money under Profile, Security. After that, the article says you authenticate with the device once every 45 days, alongside Rocket Money's own checks. Google Wallet: Not documented. Offline use: Not documented.
The Play listing says you link accounts once. The desktop help, September 22, 2026, says free members can still check that institutions are linked on the website. Real-time sync is listed under Premium. The budget help, read on October 28, 2026, says budgets are for Premium and Premium+. A January 19, 2026 article still describes limited free category budgets. Those two pages disagree, and the table follows the help article. The head-to-head is Rocket Money vs Monarch Money.
EveryDollar
Pick EveryDollar when you will type a zero-based plan and you want that plan on Android. The US listing was updated Oct 28, 2026. It showed 4.3 from 15.5K reviews and 1M+ downloads. It is free to install. The in-app purchase line is $7.99 to $129.99 per item. The description splits a free budget from an upgraded plan that connects accounts and streams transactions. It does not print the Premium dollar amounts. On October 28, 2026 the product page said the free version lasts as long as you want, and Premium is $17.99 a month or $79.99 a year, shown as $6.67 a month. The cost article, updated September 28, 2026, lists those same paid prices and says the mobile app and Premium are US-only.
Widgets: Not documented. A biometric lock: Not documented. Google Wallet: Not documented. Offline use: Not documented. Bank sync is the paywall. The bank-connection article, updated October 9, 2026, says the connection has always been Premium and is not on the free version. The free plan is the budget you type. The mobile article, updated September 22, 2026, says the Android app is in Google Play for the United States. The comparison is EveryDollar vs Monarch Money.
PocketGuard
Pick PocketGuard when you want a safe-to-spend number on Android and you are willing to read two price pages. The US listing was updated Oct 28, 2026. It showed 4.4 from 2.89K reviews and 100K+ downloads. It is free to install. The description says Plus is $12.99 a month or $74.99 a year after a 7-day trial, and that prices may vary by region. The in-app purchase line is wider: $0.99 to $149.99 per item. The pricing page shows the yearly plan as $6.25 a month, billed $74.99. The description and the yearly card can both be true. They are not the same checkout.
The listing says biometric login, and it names Touch ID and Face ID plus a PIN, on the Android page. Widgets: the July 14, 2025 post is about iPhone widgets. Android widgets: Not documented. Material You: Not documented. Google Wallet: Not documented. Offline use: Not documented. The listing does say you can add transactions by hand without connecting a bank.
Free-tier honesty is the messy part. The listing says core features are free, and that Plus unlocks unlimited budgets, transaction rules, and the debt payoff planner. The pricing page leads with the 7-day trial and the paid plan, and it does not show a free-plan card. The Plus overview lists unlimited bank accounts as a Plus feature. The listing's own FAQ says connections use Plaid, Finicity, and Salt Edge, and that you can budget without a bank. We are not picking one of those sentences as the only free tier. The comparison is PocketGuard vs Monarch Money.
Quicken Simplifi
Pick Simplifi when you want the Spending Plan on Android and you are looking at the Simplifi listing, not a different Quicken product. The US listing is named Quicken Simplifi: Budget Smart. It was updated Oct 27, 2026. It showed 4.6 from 5.09K reviews and 500K+ downloads. It is free to install. The in-app purchase line is $9.99 to $109.99 per item. The description is about connecting accounts and building a budget from imported transactions. It does not describe a free plan.
The website does not match a simple monthly reading of that range. The product page shows $3.99 and then $6.99 a month, billed annually. The subscription article says only annual plans are available, and that you need an internet connection to access the account. An offline mode beyond that sentence: Not documented. A biometric lock: Not documented. Google Wallet: Not documented.
Widgets are documented on Android, with a limit. The widget article, read on October 28, 2026 and updated more than three weeks before this check, says Available to Spend is iOS only. The same article tells you how to add a widget on Android, and that a larger widget shows more data. It lists investment widgets for daily change, balance, and top movers, and it does not mark those as iOS-only. Material You: Not documented. The head-to-head is Simplifi vs Monarch Money.
Where FYN fits
FYN is our product, and the Android case is specific. The app scans receipts, and it logs a Google Wallet purchase as you pay. Bank sync is the step you add on Pro. The Play listing was updated Oct 28, 2026. On the US storefront that day it showed 0+ downloads, and it did not display a star rating or a review count. The plans block says the free plan is a receipt wallet: 20 receipt scans a month and 20 AI queries a month, with no card. Pro is $9.99 a month, with live bank syncing for 15 accounts, 200 receipt scans a month, and 500 AI queries a month. That is the same Pro price as pricing.
The free plan does not add a bank. A free account does not sync a bank. The pricing page includes receipt photos and emailed receipts, 20 a month as one count, and the signal it calls Taps: Apple Pay and Google Wallet purchases, logged as you pay. That logging is on Free and on Pro. The Play about text does not describe it. Widgets: Not documented. A biometric lock: Not documented. An import of a Google Wallet account: Not documented. Material You: Not documented.
The pricing page lists 1 household member on Free and unlimited household members on Pro. Everyone shares the plan's limits. A shared member can be an owner, a member, or view-only. A read-only connector is on the same page, 500 calls a day on Free and 10,000 on Pro. Monarch also publishes a connector. FYN is not the only one.
The Android reason to pick FYN is the receipt, the Google Wallet log, and bank sync when you want the feed on Pro. Pro is $9.99 a month for that feed, for up to 15 accounts, and for unlimited household members. The side-by-side with the first row is FYN vs Monarch Money.
FAQ
What is the best budget app for Android in 2026?
There is not one winner. Monarch Money is the row people compare the others against: an Android app, home screen widgets, and a paid dashboard with no free plan. On monarch.com/pricing, Core is $14.99 a month or $99.99 a year. Plus is $199.99 a year. YNAB is the envelope app, with an Android widget and an app lock. Goodbudget is the envelope app you can start free, and bank sync is on Premium. Copilot Money's FAQ lists iPhone, iPad, Mac, and the web, not Android, so it is not in this table. FYN, which we build, is the last row. The free plan includes receipt scanning and logging Google Wallet purchases as you pay. Bank sync is Pro only, at $9.99 a month. The table was checked on October 28, 2026.
Which Android budget apps have widgets and a biometric lock?
Monarch, YNAB, and Quicken Simplifi document Android home screen widgets. Simplifi's Available to Spend widget is iOS only. Goodbudget's Play listing and Android help still describe a location-based widget, and a Goodbudget staff reply on February 25, 2026 says they are phasing that Android widget out. Rocket Money's widgets are not on Android. PocketGuard's widget post is about the iPhone. EveryDollar widgets: Not documented. FYN widgets: Not documented. Material You: Not documented for any row. A biometric or device lock is documented for YNAB and Rocket Money. PocketGuard's Play listing says biometric login and a PIN. Monarch, Goodbudget, EveryDollar, Quicken Simplifi, and FYN: Not documented.
Which of these apps log a Google Wallet purchase as you pay?
FYN's pricing page says Apple Pay and Google Wallet purchases are logged as you pay, on Free and on Pro. An import of a Google Wallet account for FYN: Not documented. Monarch, YNAB, Goodbudget, Rocket Money, EveryDollar, PocketGuard, and Quicken Simplifi: Not documented. A purchase you make with Google Wallet on some other card can still arrive later through a bank connection. That is a different pipe from logging the purchase.
Why does the Play Store price differ from the website?
The listing is a separate checkout. Monarch's pricing FAQ lists Core at $14.99 a month or $99.99 a year, and Plus at $199.99 a year, and it recommends the web rather than Google Play. The Play listing shows in-app purchases from $14.99 to $199.99 per item and does not name Core or Plus. YNAB's site is $14.99 a month or $109 a year. The Play listing shows $14.99 to $109.00 per item, and the description says a 34-day trial. Goodbudget's subscribe page lists Plus at $8 a month or $70 a year, and Premium at $10 a month or $80 a year. The Play listing shows $0.99 to $69.99 per item. Simplifi's product page shows $3.99 and then $6.99 a month, billed annually. The Play listing shows $9.99 to $109.99 per item. FYN Pro is $9.99 a month on the listing and on the pricing page.
Can I budget on Android with FYN before I link a bank?
Yes. FYN has an Android app. The free plan does not expire and does not ask for a card. It includes receipt scans, 20 a month, and it logs Google Wallet purchases as you pay. Bank sync is not on the free plan. Pro is $9.99 a month and adds bank sync through Plaid, up to 15 accounts. The pricing page lists 1 household member on Free and unlimited household members on Pro. Everyone shares the plan's limits. A shared member can be an owner, a member, or view-only. On October 28, 2026 the US Play listing did not display a star rating or a review count.
Sources
Checked . Ratings are the figures each US Play listing displayed that day. These are the public pages behind the table.
- Monarch Money, US Play listing, including the 7-day trial, in-app purchases from $14.99 to $199.99 per item, 4.8 from 26.2K reviews, and the Oct 28, 2026 note about the MCP Connector: Monarch on Google Play. Pricing FAQ, Core at $14.99 a month or $99.99 a year, and the web checkout note: monarch.com/pricing. Widgets, updated October 20, 2026: using mobile widgets. Data providers: data providers and connections. MCP, dated October 21, 2026: Monarch MCP. Connector help, updated October 22, 2026: Monarch MCP connector.
- YNAB, US Play listing, the 34-day trial in the description, in-app purchases from $14.99 to $109.00 per item, the Plaid agent line, and 4.6 from 25.4K reviews: YNAB on Google Play. Site price: ynab.com/pricing. Widgets: YNAB widget. App lock, updated July 2, 2026: Touch ID, Face ID, and app lock. Offline local data: troubleshooting sync.
- Goodbudget, US Play listing, the free envelope counts, the subscriber bank connection, in-app purchases from $0.99 to $69.99 per item, and 3.2 from 19.2K reviews: Goodbudget on Google Play. Plus at $8 a month or $70 a year, and Premium at $10 a month or $80 a year: subscribe for more. Premium bank sync: plan changes, August 2024. Android widget help: get started on Android. Staff reply, February 25, 2026: Android widget thread.
- Rocket Money, US Play listing, in-app purchases from $0.99 to $59.99 per item, and 4.5 from 141K reviews: Rocket Money on Google Play. Premium and Premium+ at $15 a month: how much it costs. Widgets, September 22, 2026: Rocket Money widgets. Biometrics, September 22, 2026: device biometrics. Desktop and linked institutions, September 22, 2026: Rocket Money for desktop. Budgets: creating a budget. January 19, 2026 cost article: how much it costs (learn).
- EveryDollar, US Play listing, in-app purchases from $7.99 to $129.99 per item, and 4.3 from 15.5K reviews: EveryDollar on Google Play. Product page: ramseysolutions.com/money/everydollar. Premium cost, updated September 28, 2026: subscription cost. Bank connection, updated October 9, 2026: getting started with bank connection. Android app, updated September 22, 2026: EveryDollar mobile app.
- PocketGuard, US Play listing, Plus at $12.99 a month or $74.99 a year, biometric login, and 4.4 from 2.89K reviews: PocketGuard on Google Play. Yearly price shown as $6.25 a month: pricing. Plus bank connections: Plus overview. iPhone widgets, July 14, 2025: home screen widgets.
- Quicken Simplifi, US Play listing, in-app purchases from $9.99 to $109.99 per item, and 4.6 from 5.09K reviews: Simplifi on Google Play. Product page, $3.99 and then $6.99 a month, billed annually: Quicken Simplifi. Annual plans only, and an internet connection: subscription questions. Widgets: mobile widgets.
- Copilot Money platforms, with no Android on the list: Copilot FAQ.
- FYN, US Play listing, Pro at $9.99 a month, the free plan at 20 receipt scans a month, and no rating displayed: FYN on Google Play. The shared store link is the same app. Receipts, Google Wallet logging, household members, and Pro bank sync: pricing.